Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
410 ILCS 70/8-1
(410 ILCS 70/8-1)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2023)
(a) Any hospital, approved pediatric health care facility, or approved federally qualified health center violating any provisions of this Act other than Section 7.5-1 shall be guilty of a petty offense for each violation, and any fine imposed shall be paid into the general corporate funds of the city, incorporated town or village in which the hospital, approved pediatric health care facility, or approved federally qualified health center is located, or of the
county, in case such hospital is outside the limits of any incorporated municipality.
(b) The Attorney General may seek the assessment of one or more of the following civil monetary penalties in any action filed under this Act where the hospital, approved pediatric health care facility, approved federally qualified health center, health care professional, ambulance provider, laboratory, or pharmacy knowingly violates Section 7.5-1 of the Act:
(1) For willful violations of paragraphs (1), (2),
(4), or (5) of subsection (a) of Section 7.5-1 or subsection (c) of Section 7.5-1, the civil monetary penalty shall not exceed $500 per violation.
(2) For violations of paragraphs (1), (2), (4), or
(5) of subsection (a) of Section 7.5-1 or subsection (c) of Section 7.5-1 involving a pattern or practice, the civil monetary penalty shall not exceed $500 per violation.
(3) For violations of paragraph (3) of subsection (a)
of Section 7.5-1, the civil monetary penalty shall not exceed $500 for each day the bill is with a collection agency.
(4) For violations involving the failure to submit
billing protocols within the time period required under subsection (d) of Section 7.5-1, the civil monetary penalty shall not exceed $100 per day until the health care professional or approved pediatric health care facility complies with subsection (d) of Section 7.5-1.
All civil monetary penalties shall be deposited into the Violent Crime Victims Assistance Fund.
(c) This Section is repealed on December 31, 2023.
(Source: P.A. 101-634, eff. 6-5-20; 102-22, eff. 6-25-21; 102-674, eff. 11-30-21.)