Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 745/80

    (225 ILCS 745/80)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 80. Disciplinary actions.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem appropriate, including fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any license for any one or combination of the following:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act, or of the rules
promulgated under this Act.
        (3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States: (i) that is a felony or (ii) that is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
obtaining licensure or violating any provision of this Act or the rules promulgated under this Act pertaining to advertising.
        (5) Professional incompetence.
        (6) Malpractice.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules promulgated under this Act.
        (8) Failing, within 60 days, to provide information
in response to a written request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (10) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (11) Discipline by another state, the District of
Columbia, a territory of the United States, or a foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
        (12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered.
        (13) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (14) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in his or her practice, including but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (15) Physical illness, including but not limited to,
deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (16) Solicitation of professional services other than
permitted advertising.
        (17) Conviction of or cash compromise of a charge or
violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act regulating narcotics.
        (18) Failure to (i) file a tax return, (ii) pay the
tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or (iii) pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until the requirements of that tax Act are satisfied.
        (19) Conviction by any court of competent
jurisdiction, either within or outside this State, of any violation of any law governing the practice of professional geology, if the Department determines, after investigation, that the person has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust.
        (20) Gross, willful, or continued overcharging for
professional services, including filing false statements for collection of fees for which services are not rendered.
        (21) Practicing under a false or, except as provided
by law, an assumed name.
        (22) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for, or
procuring, a license to practice as a Licensed Professional Geologist under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
        (23) Cheating on or attempting to subvert the
licensing examination administered under this Act.
    (b) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the licensee is no longer subject to the involuntary admission or judicial admission and issues an order so finding and discharging the licensee; and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume his or her practice.
    All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
(Source: P.A. 99-26, eff. 7-10-15.)