Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 745/65)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Expiration and renewal of license.
The expiration date and
renewal period for each license shall be set by rule. A Licensed Professional Geologist
whose license has expired may reinstate
his or her license or enrollment at any time within 5 years after the
expiration thereof, by making a renewal application and by paying the required
fee. However, any Licensed Professional Geologist whose license expired
while he or she was (i) on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United
States or called into service or training by the State militia or (ii) in
training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to
induction into the military service, may have his or her Licensed Professional Geologist
license renewed, reinstated, or restored without paying any
lapsed renewal fees if within 2 years after termination of the service,
training, or education the Licensed Professional Geologist furnishes to the Department
satisfactory evidence of the service, training, or education and that it has been
terminated under honorable conditions.
Any Licensed Professional Geologist whose license has expired for more
than 5 years may have it restored by making application to the Department,
paying the required fee, and
filing acceptable proof of fitness to have the license restored.
The proof may include sworn evidence certifying active practice in another
If the geologist
has not practiced for 5 years or more, the Board shall determine by an
evaluation program established by rule, whether that individual is fit to
resume active status as a Licensed Professional Geologist. The Board may require the geologist to complete a
evaluated professional experience and may require successful
completion of an examination.
The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person
who fails to file a tax return, or to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a
filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as
required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue,
until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
(Source: P.A. 99-26, eff. 7-10-15.)