Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 745/50

    (225 ILCS 745/50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 50. Qualifications for licensure.
    (a) The Department may issue a license to practice as a Licensed Professional Geologist to any applicant who meets the following qualifications:
        (1) The applicant has completed an application form
and paid the required fees.
        (2) The applicant is of good ethical character,
including compliance with the Code of Professional Conduct and Ethics under this Act, and has not committed any act or offense in any jurisdiction that would constitute the basis for disciplining a Licensed Professional Geologist under this Act.
        (3) The applicant has earned a degree in geology from
an accredited college or university, as established by rule, with a minimum of 30 semester or 45 quarter hours of course credits in geology, of which 24 semester or 36 quarter hours are in upper level courses. The Department may, upon the recommendation of the Board, allow the substitution of appropriate experience as a geologist for prescribed educational requirements as established by rule.
        (4) The applicant has a documented record of a
minimum of 4 years of professional experience, obtained after completion of the education requirements specified in this Section, in geologic or directly related work, demonstrating that the applicant is qualified to assume responsible charge of such work upon licensure as a Licensed Professional Geologist or such specialty of professional geology that the Board may recommend and the Department may recognize. The Department may require evidence acceptable to it that up to 2 years of professional experience have been gained under the supervision of a person licensed under this Act or similar Acts in any other state, or under the supervision of others who, in the opinion of the Department, are qualified to have responsible charge of geological work under this Act.
        (5) The applicant has passed an examination
authorized by the Department for practice as a Licensed Professional Geologist.
        (6) The applicant has complied with all other
requirements of this Act and rules established for the implementation of this Act.
    (b) A license to practice as a Licensed Professional Geologist shall not be denied any applicant because of the applicant's race, religion, creed, national origin, political beliefs or activities, age, sex, sexual orientation, or physical impairment.
    (c) The Department may establish by rule an intern process to, in part, allow (1) a graduate who has earned a degree in geology from an accredited college or university in accordance with this Act or (2) a student in a degree program at an accredited college or university who has completed the necessary course requirements established in this Section to request to take one or both parts of the examination required by the Department without first submitting a formal application to the Department for licensure as a Licensed Professional Geologist. The Department may set by rule the criteria for the intern process, including, but not limited to, the educational requirements, exam requirements, experience requirements, remediation requirements, and any fees or applications required for the process. The Department may also set by rule provisions concerning disciplinary guidelines and the use of the title "intern" or "trainee" by a graduate or student who has passed the required examination.
(Source: P.A. 99-26, eff. 7-10-15.)