Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 515/4

    (225 ILCS 515/4) (from Ch. 111, par. 904)
    Sec. 4. It shall be unlawful for any person to act as an employment counselor, or to advertise, or assume to act as an employment counselor, without first obtaining a license as such employment counselor, from the Department of Labor. It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in, operate or carry on the business of an employment agency unless each employee of such agency, who furnishes information to any person as to where employees or employment may be obtained or found, is a licensed employment counselor. Where the license to conduct an employment agency is issued to a corporation and any officer of the corporation performs any function defined as those to be performed by an employment counselor, he shall be considered an employee of the corporation and shall be required to secure a license as an employment counselor.
    Every person who desires to obtain a license, as employment counselor, shall apply therefor to the Department of Labor, in writing, upon application blanks prepared and furnished by the Department of Labor. Each applicant shall set out in said application blanks such information as the Department may require, and said applications shall be accompanied by a permit fee of $50 and the affidavits of two persons of business or professional integrity. Such affiants shall state that they have known the applicant for a period of two years and that the applicant is a person of good moral character.
    The Department shall issue to such person a temporary permit to act as an employment counselor which permit shall be valid for 90 days pending examination of such person when:
        (a) the applicant is employed by an employment
agency, and the application states the name and address of such employment agency; and
        (b) the applicant declares under oath his intention
that he will complete the examination for the employment agency counselor's license on a date scheduled for such examination by the Department of Labor within 60 days of the date of application.
    Commencing January 1, 1974 the Department shall not issue a license to act as an employment counselor to any person not previously licensed as such employment counselor on such date unless he has taken and successfully completed a written examination based upon this Act. The Department of Labor shall conduct such examination at such times and places as it shall determine, but not less than once each month. The examination shall test the applicant's knowledge of the employment agency law, pertinent labor laws and laws against discrimination in employment. Upon successful completion of the written examination and providing the requirements of this Section are met, the Department shall issue a license to act as an employment counselor and no additional licensing fee shall be required.
    In the event of failure to appear for the examination as scheduled or if the applicant appears and fails to pass, such person shall pay a fee of $10 for rescheduling at a later date. No person may be rescheduled for examination more than twice in any calendar year except in the event that he has failed to appear for examination and such failure to appear was not willful but was the result of illness of the applicant or a member of his immediate family or of some other emergency.
    The Department of Labor may require such other proof as to the honesty, truthfulness and integrity of the applicant, as may be deemed necessary and desirable. If the applicant is shown to be honest, truthful and of known integrity, and has successfully completed the written examination required under this Section, the Department of Labor shall issue a license, which license shall set out the true name and address of the applicant, the name of the Employment agency by whom he is employed, and such additional information as the Department may prescribe. The license issued shall authorize the person named therein to act as an employment counselor. Such license may be renewed at the end of each year by the payment of a renewal fee of $25.
    The applicant must furnish satisfactory proof to the Department that he has never been a party to any fraud, has no jail record, belongs to no subversive societies and is of good moral character and business integrity.
    In determining honesty, truthfulness, integrity, moral character and business integrity under this Section, the Department may take into consideration any felony conviction of the applicant, but such a conviction shall not operate as a bar to licensing.
    The license of the employment counselor shall be mailed to the employment agency by which he is employed, and shall be kept in the office of such agency and produced for inspection by any agent of the Department of Labor, at any time during business hours.
    The Department of Labor, upon its own motion, or upon the filing of a verified complaint with the department, by any person, accompanied by such evidence, documentary or otherwise, as makes out a prima facie case that the licensee is unworthy to hold a license, shall notify the employment counselor in writing that the question of his honesty, truthfulness, integrity, moral character, business integrity or felony conviction is to be reopened and determined, de novo. This notice shall be served by delivering a copy to the licensed person, or by mailing a copy to him, by registered mail, at his last known business address. Thereupon, the Department of Labor shall require further proof of the licensee's honesty, truthfulness, integrity, moral character and business integrity, and if the proof is not satisfactory to the Department of Labor, it shall revoke his license.
    If any employment counselor is discharged or terminates his employment with the agency by which he is employed, such agency shall immediately deliver, or forward by mail, the employment counselor's license, to the Department of Labor, together with the reasons for his discharge, if he was discharged. Failure to state that the employment counselor was discharged will be conclusively presumed to indicate that he terminated his services voluntarily. Thereafter, it shall be unlawful for the employment counselor to exercise any rights or privileges under such license, unless the Department of Labor transfers his license to another employment agency.
    Each employment counselor shall notify the Department of Labor of any change in his residence address. Failure to give such notice shall automatically work a revocation of his license.
    The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
    Any person who violates any provisions of this section or who testifies falsely as to any matter required by the provisions of this section or of this Act, is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
(Source: P.A. 100-278, eff. 8-22-17.)