Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 458/15-15

    (225 ILCS 458/15-15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 15-15. Investigation; notice; hearing.
    (a) Upon the motion of the Department or the Board or upon a complaint in writing of a person setting forth facts that, if proven, would constitute grounds for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action, the Department shall investigate the actions or qualifications of any person who is a licensee, applicant for licensure, unlicensed person, person rendering or offering to render appraisal services, or holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act. If, upon investigation, the Department believes that there may be cause for suspension, revocation, or other disciplinary action, the Department shall use the services of a State certified general real estate appraiser, a State certified residential real estate appraiser, or the Coordinator to assist in determining whether grounds for disciplinary action exist prior to commencing formal disciplinary proceedings.
    (b) Formal disciplinary proceedings shall commence upon the issuance of a written complaint describing the charges that are the basis of the disciplinary action and delivery of the detailed complaint to the address of record of the person charged. For an associate real estate trainee appraiser, a copy shall also be sent to the licensee's supervising appraiser of record. The Department shall notify the person to file a verified written answer within 20 days after the service of the notice and complaint. The notification shall inform the person of the right to be heard in person or by legal counsel; that the hearing will be afforded not sooner than 20 days after service of the complaint; that failure to file an answer will result in a default being entered against the person; that the license may be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status; and that other disciplinary action may be taken pursuant to this Act, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the licensee's practice. If the person fails to file an answer after service of notice, the respective license may, at the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status and the Department may take whatever disciplinary action it deems proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice, without a hearing.
    (c) At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board shall conduct hearing of the charges, providing both the person charged and the complainant ample opportunity to present in person or by counsel such statements, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to a defense thereto.
    (d) The Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings of fact and recommendations. A copy of the report shall be served upon the person either by mail or, at the discretion of the Department, by electronic means. For associate real estate trainee appraisers, a copy shall also be sent to the licensee's supervising appraiser of record. Within 20 days after the service, the person may present the Secretary with a motion in writing for a rehearing and shall specify the particular grounds for the request. If the person orders a transcript of the record as provided in this Act, the time elapsing thereafter and before the transcript is ready for delivery to the person shall not be counted as part of the 20 days. If the Secretary is not satisfied that substantial justice has been done, the Secretary may order a rehearing by the Board or other special committee appointed by the Secretary, may remand the matter to the Board for its reconsideration of the matter based on the pleadings and evidence presented to the Board, or may enter a final order in contravention of the Board's recommendation. Notwithstanding a person's failure to file a motion for rehearing, the Secretary shall have the right to take any of the actions specified in this subsection (d). Upon the suspension or revocation of a license, the licensee shall be required to surrender the respective license to the Department, and upon failure or refusal to do so, the Department shall have the right to seize the license.
    (e) The Department has the power to issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum to bring before it any person in this State, to take testimony, or to require production of any records relevant to an inquiry or hearing by the Board in the same manner as prescribed by law in judicial proceedings in the courts of this State. In a case of refusal of a witness to attend, testify, or to produce books or papers concerning a matter upon which the witness might be lawfully examined, the circuit court of the county where the hearing is held, upon application of the Department or any party to the proceeding, may compel obedience by proceedings as for contempt.
    (f) Any license that is revoked may not be restored for a minimum period of 3 years.
    (g) In addition to the provisions of this Section concerning the conduct of hearings and the recommendations for discipline, the Department has the authority to negotiate disciplinary and non-disciplinary settlement agreements concerning any license issued under this Act. All such agreements shall be recorded as Consent Orders or Consent to Administrative Supervision Orders.
    (h) The Secretary shall have the authority to appoint an attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action to suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline any license issued by the Department. The Hearing Officer shall have full authority to conduct the hearing.
    (i) The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all formal hearings of any contested case involving the discipline of a license. At all hearings or pre-hearing conferences, the Department and the licensee shall be entitled to have the proceedings transcribed by a certified shorthand reporter. A copy of the transcribed proceedings shall be made available to the licensee by the certified shorthand reporter upon payment of the prevailing contract copy rate.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22; 102-970, eff. 5-27-22; 103-236, eff. 1-1-24.)