Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 454/5-27)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
Requirements for licensure as a broker.
(a) Every applicant for licensure as a broker must meet the following qualifications:
(1) Be at least 18 years of age;
(2) Be of good moral character;
(3) Successfully complete a 4-year course of study in
a high school or secondary school approved by the state in which the school is located, or possess a State of Illinois High School Diploma, which shall be verified under oath by the applicant;
(5) Provide satisfactory evidence of having completed
75 hours of instruction in real estate courses approved by the Department, 15 hours of which must consist of situational and case studies presented in the classroom or by live, interactive webinar or online distance education courses;
(6) Personally take and pass a written examination
authorized by the Department;
(7) Present a valid application for issuance of a
license accompanied by the fees specified by rule.
(b) The requirements specified in items (3) and (5) of subsection (a) of this Section do not apply to applicants who are currently admitted to practice law by the Supreme Court of Illinois and are currently in active standing.
(c) No applicant shall engage in any of the activities covered by this Act until a valid sponsorship has been registered with the Department.
(d) All licenses should be readily available to the public at the licensee's place of business.
(e) An individual holding an active license as a managing broker may, upon written request to the Department, permanently and irrevocably place his or her managing broker license on inactive status and shall be issued a broker's license in exchange. Any individual obtaining a broker's license under this subsection (e) shall be considered as having obtained a broker's license by education and passing the required test and shall be treated as such in determining compliance with this Act.
(Source: P.A. 101-357, eff. 8-9-19; 102-1100, eff. 1-1-23