Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 454/20-60

    (225 ILCS 454/20-60)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
    Sec. 20-60. Investigations notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person who is an applicant or person or persons rendering or offering to render services for which a license is required by this Act or any person holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act and may notify the designated managing broker and sponsoring broker of the pending investigation. The Department shall, before revoking, suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other disciplinary action under Article 20 of this Act, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the person charged and the designated managing broker and sponsoring broker in writing of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges and whether the licensee's license has been temporarily suspended pursuant to Section 20-65, (ii) direct the person to file a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after service of the notice, and (iii) inform the person that failure to answer will result in a default or that the person's license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the ability to practice, as the Department may consider proper. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Board may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, the person's license may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under this Act. The notice may be served by mail, or, at the discretion of the Department, by electronic means as adopted by rule to the address or email address of record and shall include notice to the designated managing broker and sponsoring broker. A copy of the Department's final disciplinary order shall be delivered to the designated managing broker and sponsoring broker.
(Source: P.A. 103-236, eff. 1-1-24.)