Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 447/35-40
(225 ILCS 447/35-40)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Firearm control; training requirements.
(a) The Department shall, pursuant to rule, approve or
disapprove training programs for the firearm training course,
which shall be taught by a qualified instructor.
Qualifications for instructors shall be set by rule. The
firearm training course shall be conducted by entities, by a
licensee, or by an agency licensed by this Act, provided the
course is approved by the Department. The firearm course
shall consist of the following minimum requirements:
(1) 48 hours of training as follows:
(A) 20 hours consisting of training as described
in Sections 15-20, 20-20, or 25-20, as applicable;
(B) 8 hours consisting of practice firing on a
range with live ammunition, including, but not limited to, firing a minimum of 50 rounds of live ammunition (factory loaded service ammunition or factory reloaded ammunition) and attaining a minimum score of 70% accuracy with each type of weapon the person is authorized by the Department to carry and for which the person has been trained; and
(C) 20 hours consisting of instruction in:
(i) the dangers of and misuse of firearms,
their storage, safety rules, and care and cleaning of firearms;
(ii) defensive tactics for in-holster weapon
(iii) the legal use of firearms;
(iv) the ethical and moral considerations
necessary for any person who possesses a firearm;
(v) the laws regarding arrest, search, and
(vi) liability for acts that may be performed
in the course of employment.
(2) An examination shall be given at the completion
of the course. The examination shall consist of a firearms qualification course and a written examination. Successful completion shall be determined by the Department.
(b) The firearm training requirement may be waived for a licensee or
employee who has completed training provided by the
Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board or the
equivalent public body of another state or is a qualified retired law enforcement officer as defined in the federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 and is in compliance with all of the requirements of that Act, provided
documentation showing requalification with the weapon on the
firing range is submitted to the Department.
(c) In addition to the training provided for in subsection (a), a licensee or employee in possession of a valid firearm control card shall complete an additional 8 hours of refresher training each calendar year commencing with the calendar year following one year after the date of the issuance of the firearm control card. The 8 hours of training shall consist of practice firing on a range with live ammunition, including, but not limited to, firing a minimum of 50 rounds of live ammunition (factory loaded service ammunition or factory reloaded ammunition) and attaining a minimum score of 70% accuracy with each type of weapon the person is authorized by the Department to carry and for which the person has been trained.
(Source: P.A. 102-152, eff. 1-1-22