Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 447/15-25

    (225 ILCS 447/15-25)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-152)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 15-25. Training; private detective and employees.
    (a) Registered employees of a private detective agency shall complete, within 30 days of their employment, a minimum of 20 hours of training provided by a qualified instructor. The substance of the training shall be related to the work performed by the registered employee and shall include relevant information as to the identification of terrorists, acts of terrorism, and terrorist organizations, as defined by federal and State statutes.
    (b) It is the responsibility of the employer to certify, on a form provided by the Department, that the employee has successfully completed the training. The form shall be a permanent record of training completed by the employee and shall be placed in the employee's file with the employer for the period the employee remains with the employer. An agency may place a notarized copy of the Department form in lieu of the original into the permanent employee registration card file. The original form shall be given to the employee when his or her employment is terminated. Failure to return the original form to the employee is grounds for disciplinary action. The employee shall not be required to repeat the required training once the employee has been issued the form. An employer may provide or require additional training.
    (c) Any certification of completion of the 20-hour basic training issued under the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, and Locksmith Act of 1993 or any prior Act shall be accepted as proof of training under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-613, eff. 9-11-07.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-152)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 15-25. Training; private detective and employees.
    (a) Registered employees of a private detective agency shall complete, within 30 days of their employment, a minimum of 20 hours of basic training provided by a qualified instructor. The substance of the training shall be related to the work performed by the registered employee. The training may be classroom-based or online Internet-based but shall not be conducted as on-the-job training.
    (a-5) In addition to the basic training required in subsection (a), registered employees of a private detective agency shall complete an additional minimum of 8 hours of annual training for every calendar year, commencing with the calendar year beginning after the employee's hire date.
    (a-10) Annual training for registered employees shall be based on subjects related to the work performed as determined by the employer and may be conducted in a classroom or seminar setting or via Internet-based online learning programs. Annual training may not be conducted as on-the-job training.
    (b) It is the responsibility of the employer to certify, on a form provided by the Department, that the employee has successfully completed the basic and annual training. The original form or a copy shall be a permanent record of training completed by the employee and shall be placed in the employee's file with the employer for the period the employee remains with the employer. The original form or a copy shall be given to the employee when his or her employment is terminated. Failure to return the original form or a copy to the employee is grounds for disciplinary action. The employee shall not be required to repeat the required training once the employee has been issued the form. An employer may provide or require additional training.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) All private detectives shall complete a minimum of 8 hours of annual training on a topic of their choosing, provided that the subject matter is reasonably related to their private detective practice. The annual training for private detectives may be completed utilizing any combination of hours obtained in a classroom or seminar setting or via Internet-based online learning programs. The Department shall adopt rules to administer this subsection.
    (e) The annual training requirements for private detectives shall not apply until the calendar year following the issuance of the private detective license.
    (f) It shall be the responsibility of the private detective to keep and maintain a personal log of all training hours earned along with sufficient documentation for the Department to verify the annual training completed for at least 5 years. The personal training log and documentation shall be provided to the Department in the same manner as other documentation and records required under this Act.
    (g) If the private detective owns or is employed by a private detective agency, the private detective agency shall maintain a record of the annual training. The private detective agency must make the record of annual training available to the Department upon request.
    (h) Recognizing the diverse professional practices of private detectives licensed under this Act, it is the intent of the training requirements in this Section to allow for a broad interpretation of the coursework, seminar subjects, or class topics to be considered reasonably related to the practice of any profession licensed under this Act.
    (i) Notwithstanding any other professional license a private detective holds under this Act, no more than 8 hours of annual training shall be required for any one year.
(Source: P.A. 102-152, eff. 1-1-22.)