Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 441/5-17

    (225 ILCS 441/5-17)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 5-17. Renewal of home inspector license; entity.
    (a) The expiration date and renewal period for a home inspector license for an entity that is not a natural person shall be set by rule. The holder of a license may renew the license within 90 days preceding the expiration date by completing and submitting to the Department a renewal application in a manner prescribed by the Department and paying the required fees.
    (b) An entity that is not a natural person whose license under this Act has expired may renew the license for a period of 2 years following the expiration date by complying with the requirements of subsection (a) of this Section and paying any late penalties established by rule.
    (c) The Department shall not renew a license if the licensee has an unpaid fine or fee from a disciplinary matter or from a non-disciplinary action imposed by the Department until the fine or fee is paid to the Department or the licensee has entered into a payment plan and is current on the required payments.
    (d) The Department shall not issue a license if the applicant has an unpaid fine imposed by the Department for unlicensed practice until the fine is paid to the Department or the applicant has entered into a payment plan and is current on the required payments.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22; 102-970, eff. 5-27-22.)