Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 441/15-15

    (225 ILCS 441/15-15)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 15-15. Investigation; notice; hearing. The Department may investigate the actions of any person who is an applicant, licensee, person or persons rendering or offering to render home inspection services, or any person holding or claiming to hold a license as a home inspector. The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew a license or to discipline a person pursuant to Section 15-10, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the person charged in writing and the person's managing licensed home inspector, if any, of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct the person to file a written answer with the Department under oath within 20 days after the service of the notice, and (iii) inform the person that failure to file an answer will result in a default entered against the person. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties of their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, the license, may, in the discretion of the Department, be revoked, suspended, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary actions considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under the Act. The notice may be served by mail, or, at the discretion of the Department, by electronic means to the address of record or email address of record specified by the person as last updated with the Department.
    A copy of the hearing officer's report or any Order of Default, along with a copy of the original complaint giving rise to the action, shall be served upon the person by the Department in the manner provided in this Act for the service of a notice of hearing. Within 20 days after service, the person may present to the Department a motion in writing for a rehearing, which shall specify the particular grounds for rehearing. If the person orders from the reporting service and pays for a transcript of the record within the time for filing a motion for rehearing, then the 20-day period during which a motion may be filed shall commence upon the delivery of the transcript to the applicant or licensee. The Department may respond to the motion, or if a motion for rehearing is denied, then upon denial, the Secretary may enter an order in accordance with the recommendations of the hearing officer. A copy of the Department's final disciplinary order shall be delivered to the person and the person's managing home inspector, if any.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22; 103-236, eff. 1-1-24.)