Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 410/3E-2

    (225 ILCS 410/3E-2)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3E-2. Hair braider licensure; qualifications.
    (a) A person is qualified to receive a license as a hair braider if he or she has filed an application on forms provided by the Department, paid the required fees, and meets the following qualifications:
        (1) Is at least 16 years of age;
        (2) Is beyond the age of compulsory school attendance
or has received a certificate of graduation from a school providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of that certificate; and
        (3) Has completed a program consisting of a minimum
of 300 clock hours or a 10 credit hour equivalency of instruction, as defined by rule, in a licensed cosmetology school teaching a hair braiding curriculum or in a licensed hair braiding school as follows:
            (A) Basic training consisting of 35 hours of
classroom instruction in general theory, practical application, and technical application in the following subject areas: history of hair braiding, personal hygiene and public health, professional ethics, disinfection and sanitation, bacteriology, disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp, OSHA standards relating to material safety data sheets (MSDS) on chemicals, hair analysis and scalp care, and technical procedures;
            (B) Related concepts consisting of 35 hours of
classroom instruction in the following subject areas: Braid removal and scalp care; basic styling knowledge; tools and equipment; growth patterns, styles and sectioning; client consultation and face shapes; and client education, pre-care, post-care, home care and follow-up services;
            (C) Practices and procedures consisting of 200
hours of instruction, which shall be a combination of classroom instruction and clinical practical application, in the following subject areas: single braids with and without extensions; cornrows with and without extensions; twists and knots; multiple strands; hair locking; weaving/sewn-in; other procedures as they relate to hair-braiding; and product knowledge as it relates to hair braiding; and
            (D) Business practices consisting of 30 hours of
classroom instruction in the following subject areas: Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and Nail Technology Act of 1985 and Rules; salon management; human relations and salesmanship; and Workers' Compensation Act.
    (b) The expiration date and renewal period for each license issued under this Act shall be set by rule.
    (c) Within 2 years after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, the Department may issue a hair braider license to any applicant who does not meet the requirements of items (2) and (3) of subsection (a) of this Section if the applicant: (1) files an application in accordance with subsection (a), (2) pays the required fee, (3) has not committed an offense that would be grounds for discipline under this Act, and (4) is able to demonstrate to the Department through tax records or affidavits that he or she has practiced hair braiding for at least 2 consecutive years immediately prior to the date of his or her application.
    A hair braider who obtains his or her license under this subsection (c) may renew his or her license if he or she applies to the Department for renewal and has completed at least 65 hours of relevant training in health, safety, hygiene, and business management in accordance with the requirements of this Section or any rule adopted pursuant to this Section. A hair braider who renews his or her license under this subsection (c) may thereafter only renew his or her license if he or she meets the requirements of Section 3E-5 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1246, eff. 1-1-11; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)