Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 407/20-43

    (225 ILCS 407/20-43)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
    Sec. 20-43. Investigations; notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions or qualifications of any person who is an applicant, unlicensed person, or person rendering or offering to render auction services, or holding or claiming to hold a license as a licensed auctioneer. At least 30 days before any disciplinary hearing under this Act, the Department shall: (i) notify the person charged in writing of the charges made and the time and place of the hearing; (ii) direct the person to file with the Board a written answer under oath to the charges within 20 days of receiving service of the notice; and (iii) inform the person that if the person fails to file an answer to the charges within 20 days of receiving service of the notice, default may be entered and the license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license as the Department may consider proper, including, but not limited to, limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the licensee's practice, or imposing a fine.
    At the time and place of the hearing fixed in the notice, the Board shall proceed to hear the charges, and the person or person's counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments in the person's defense. The Board may continue the hearing when it deems it appropriate.
    Notice of the hearing may be served by certified mail, or, at the discretion of the Department, by an electronic means to the person's last known address or email address of record or, if in the course of the administrative proceeding the party has previously designated a specific email address at which to accept electronic service for that specific proceeding, by sending a copy by email to the party's email address on record.
(Source: P.A. 103-236, eff. 1-1-24.)