Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 407/10-40

    (225 ILCS 407/10-40)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
    Sec. 10-40. Restoration.
    (a) A licensee whose license has lapsed or expired shall have 2 years from the expiration date to restore licensure without examination. The expired licensee shall make application to the Department on forms provided by the Department, provide evidence of successful completion of 12 hours of approved continuing education during the period of time the license had lapsed, and pay all fees and penalties as established by rule.
    (b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Act to the contrary, any licensee whose license under this Act has expired is eligible to restore such license without paying any lapsed fees and penalties if the license expired while the licensee was:
        (1) on active duty with the United States Army,
United States Marine Corps, United States Navy, United States Air Force, United States Coast Guard, the State Militia called into service or training;
        (2) engaged in training or education under the
supervision of the United States prior to induction into military service; or
        (3) serving as an employee of the Department, while
the employee was required to surrender the license.
    A licensee shall also be eligible to restore a license under paragraphs (1), (2), and (3) without completing the continuing education requirements for that licensure period. For a period of 2 years following the termination of the service or education if the termination was by other than dishonorable discharge and the licensee furnishes the Department with an affidavit specifying that the licensee has been so engaged.
    (c) At any time after the suspension, revocation, placement on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken under this Act with reference to any license, the Department may restore the license to the licensee without examination upon the order of the Secretary, if the licensee submits a properly completed application, pays the appropriate fees, and otherwise complies with the conditions of the order.
(Source: P.A. 103-236, eff. 1-1-24.)