Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 310/9

    (225 ILCS 310/9) (from Ch. 111, par. 8209)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 9. Expiration; renewal; restoration.
    (a) The expiration date and renewal period for each certificate of registration issued under this Act shall be set by rule. A registrant may renew such registration during the month preceding its expiration date by paying the required renewal fee.
    (b) Inactive status.
        (1) Any registrant who notifies the Department in
writing on forms prescribed by the Department may elect to place his or her certificate of registration on an inactive status and shall, subject to rules of the Department, be excused from payment of renewal fees until he or she notifies the Department in writing of his or her desire to resume active status.
        (2) Any registrant requesting restoration from
inactive status shall be required to pay the current renewal fee and shall be required to restore his or her registration.
        (3) Any registrant whose registration is on inactive
status shall not use the title "registered interior designer" in the State of Illinois.
        (4) Any registrant who uses the title "registered
interior designer" while his or her certificate of registration is lapsed or inactive shall be considered to be using the title without a registration which shall be grounds for discipline under Section 13 of this Act.
    (c) Any registrant whose registration has expired may have his or her certificate of registration restored at any time within 5 years after its expiration, upon payment of the required fee.
    (d) Any person whose registration has been expired for more than 5 years may have his or her registration restored by making application to the Department and filing proof acceptable to the Department of his or her fitness to have his or her registration restored, including sworn evidence certifying to active lawful practice in another jurisdiction, and by paying the required restoration fee. A person using the title "registered interior designer" on an expired registration is deemed to be in violation of this Act.
    (e) If a person whose certificate of registration has expired has not maintained active status in another jurisdiction, the Department shall determine, by an evaluation process established by rule, his or her fitness to resume active status and may require the person to complete a period of evaluated practical experience, and may require successful completion of an examination.
    (f) Any person whose certificate of registration has expired while he or she has been engaged (1) in federal or State service active duty, or (2) in training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to induction into the military service, may have his or her registration restored without paying any lapsed renewal or restoration fee if, within 2 years after termination of such service, training or education, he or she furnishes the Department with satisfactory proof that he or she has been so engaged and that his or her service, training, or education has been so terminated.
    (g) An individual applying for restoration of a registration shall have 3 years from the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed in 3 years, the application shall be denied and the fee forfeited. The applicant may reapply at any time.
(Source: P.A. 100-920, eff. 8-17-18.)