Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 130/75
(225 ILCS 130/75)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Grounds for disciplinary action.
(a) The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or restore a
registration, may revoke or suspend a registration, or may place on
probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary
action with regard to a person registered under this Act,
including but not limited to the imposition of fines not to
exceed $10,000 for each violation and the assessment of costs as provided for in Section 90, for any one or combination
of the following causes:
(1) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
information to the Department.
(2) Violating a provision of this Act or rules
(3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
(4) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for,
renewing, restoring, reinstating, or procuring a registration under this Act.
(5) Aiding or assisting another person in violating a
provision of this Act or its rules.
(6) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
response to a written request made by the Department.
(7) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public, as defined by rule of the Department.
(8) Discipline by another United States jurisdiction,
governmental agency, unit of government, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
(9) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from a person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association a fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing in this paragraph (9) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the registrant's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (9) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
(10) A finding by the Department that the registrant,
after having his or her registration placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
(11) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in his or her practice, including but not limited to false records or reports filed with State agencies.
(12) Willfully making or signing a false statement,
certificate, or affidavit to induce payment.
(13) Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected child abuse or neglect as required under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
(14) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the registrant has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
(16) Failure to report to the Department (A) any
adverse final action taken against the registrant by another registering or licensing jurisdiction, government agency, law enforcement agency, or any court or (B) liability for conduct that would constitute grounds for action as set forth in this Section.
(17) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, or any other substance that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(18) Physical or mental illness, including but not
limited to deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skills, which results in the inability to practice the profession for which he or she is registered with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(19) Gross malpractice.
(20) Immoral conduct in the commission of an act
related to the registrant's practice, including but not limited to sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation.
(21) Violation of the Health Care Worker
(b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend without hearing the
registration of a person who fails to file a return, to pay the
tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay
a final assessment of the tax, penalty, or interest as
required by a tax Act administered by the Department of
Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(b-1) The Department shall not revoke, suspend, summarily suspend, place on probation, reprimand, refuse to issue or renew, or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action against the license issued under this Act to practice as a registered surgical assistant or registered surgical technologist based solely upon the registered surgical assistant or registered surgical technologist providing, authorizing, recommending, aiding, assisting, referring for, or otherwise participating in any health care service, so long as the care was not unlawful under the laws of this State, regardless of whether the patient was a resident of this State or another state.
(b-2) The Department shall not revoke, suspend, summarily suspend, place on prohibition, reprimand, refuse to issue or renew, or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action against the license issued under this Act to practice as a registered surgical assistant or registered surgical technologist based upon the registered surgical assistant's or registered surgical technologist's license being revoked or suspended, or the registered surgical assistant's or registered surgical technologist's being otherwise disciplined by any other state, if that revocation, suspension, or other form of discipline was based solely on the registered surgical assistant or registered surgical technologist violating another state's laws prohibiting the provision of, authorization of, recommendation of, aiding or assisting in, referring for, or participation in any health care service if that health care service as provided would not have been unlawful under the laws of this State and is consistent with the standards of conduct for the registered surgical assistant or registered surgical technologist practicing in this State.
(b-3) The conduct specified in subsection (b-1) or (b-2) shall not constitute grounds for suspension under Section 145.
(b-4) An applicant seeking licensure, certification, or authorization pursuant to this Act who has been subject to disciplinary action by a duly authorized professional disciplinary agency of another jurisdiction solely on the basis of having provided, authorized, recommended, aided, assisted, referred for, or otherwise participated in health care shall not be denied such licensure, certification, or authorization, unless the Department determines that such action would have constituted professional misconduct in this State. Nothing in this Section shall be construed as prohibiting the Department from evaluating the conduct of such applicant and making a determination regarding the licensure, certification, or authorization to practice a profession under this Act.
(c) The determination by a circuit court that a registrant
is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as
provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities
Code operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension will
end only upon (1) a finding by a court that the patient is no
longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial
admission, (2) issuance of an order so finding and
discharging the patient, and (3) filing of a petition for restoration demonstrating fitness to practice.
(e) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined a registrant or a potential registrant is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's registration or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(f) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any individual registered under this Act or any individual who has applied for registration to submit to a mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both, that may include a substance abuse or sexual offender evaluation, at the expense of the Department. The Department shall specifically designate the examining physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or, if applicable, the multidisciplinary team involved in providing the mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both. The multidisciplinary team shall be led by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches and may consist of one or more or a combination of physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed chiropractic physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff. Any examining physician or member of the multidisciplinary team may require any person ordered to submit to an examination and evaluation pursuant to this Section to submit to any additional supplemental testing deemed necessary to complete any examination or evaluation process, including, but not limited to, blood testing, urinalysis, psychological testing, or neuropsychological testing.
The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide to the Department any and all records, including business records, that relate to the examination and evaluation, including any supplemental testing performed. The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to present testimony concerning this examination and evaluation of the registrant or applicant, including testimony concerning any supplemental testing or documents relating to the examination and evaluation. No information, report, record, or other documents in any way related to the examination and evaluation shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communication between the registrant or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team. No authorization is necessary from the registrant or applicant ordered to undergo an evaluation and examination for the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide information, reports, records, or other documents or to provide any testimony regarding the examination and evaluation. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination.
Failure of any individual to submit to mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without a hearing until such time as the individual submits to the examination. If the Department finds a registrant unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department shall require such registrant to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department as a condition for continued, reinstated, or renewed registration.
When the Secretary immediately suspends a registration under this Section, a hearing upon such person's registration must be convened by the Department within 15 days after such suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the registrant's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Individuals registered under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that they can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of their registration.
(g) All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
(f) The Department may adopt rules to implement the
changes made by this amendatory Act of the 102nd General
(Source: P.A. 102-1117, eff. 1-13-23.)