Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 100/27
(225 ILCS 100/27)
(from Ch. 111, par. 4827)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any
or persons holding or claiming to hold a license. The Department shall,
before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status or taking any
other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper with regard
to any licensee, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing,
notify the accused in writing of any charges made and the time and place
for a hearing of the charges before the Board, direct him or her to file
answer thereto to the Board under oath within 20 days after the service
on him or her of such notice and inform her or him that if he or she fails
default will be taken against him or her and his or her license may be
on probationary status, or subject to other disciplinary action, including
the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice as the Department may
In case the accused person, after receiving notice fails to file an
answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Secretary having
the recommendation of the Board, be suspended, revoked, or placed on
probationary status or the Secretary may take whatever disciplinary action
as he or she may deem proper including limiting the scope, nature, or extent
accused person's practice without a hearing if the act or acts charged
constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
Written or electronic
notice may be served by personal delivery,
mail, or email to the applicant or licensee at his or her address of record or email address of record. At the time and placed fixed in the notice, the Board shall
proceed to hear the charges
and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity
to present such statements, testimony, evidence and argument as may
be pertinent to the charges or to the defense thereto. The Board
may continue such hearing from time to time.
(Source: P.A. 100-525, eff. 9-22-17.)