Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 80/18

    (225 ILCS 80/18) (from Ch. 111, par. 3918)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 18. Endorsement. The Department may, in its discretion, license as an optometrist, without examination on payment of the required fee, an applicant who is so licensed under the laws of another state or jurisdiction of the United States. The Department may issue a license, upon payment of the required fee and recommendation of the Board, to an individual applicant who is licensed in any foreign country or province whose standards, in the opinion of the Board or Department, were, at the date of his or her licensure, substantially equivalent to the requirements then in force in this State; or if the applicant possesses individual qualifications and skills which demonstrate substantial equivalence to current Illinois requirements.
    Applicants have 3 years from the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed in 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(Source: P.A. 99-909, eff. 1-1-17.)