Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 25/16
(225 ILCS 25/16)
(from Ch. 111, par. 2316)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Expiration, renewal and restoration of licenses.
date and renewal date for each license issued under this Act shall
be set by
rule. The renewal period for each license issued under this Act shall be 3 years. A dentist or dental hygienist may renew a license during the month
preceding its expiration date by paying the required fee. A dentist or dental hygienist
shall provide proof of current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification intended for health care providers at
the time of renewal as provided by rule. Basic Life Support certification training taken as a requirement of this Section shall be counted for no more than 4 hours during each licensure period towards the continuing education hours under Section 16.1 of this Act. The Department shall provide by rule for exemptions from this requirement for a dentist or dental hygienist with a physical disability that would preclude him or her from performing BLS.
Any dentist or dental hygienist whose license has expired or whose license is
on inactive status may have his license restored at any time within 5 years
after the expiration thereof, upon payment of the required fee and a showing of proof of compliance with current continuing education requirements, as provided by rule.
Any person whose license has been expired for more than 5 years or who has
had his license on inactive status for more than 5 years may have his license
restored by making application to the Department and filing proof acceptable to
the Department of taking continuing education and of his fitness to have the license restored, including sworn
evidence certifying to active practice in another jurisdiction, and by paying
the required restoration fee. A person practicing on an expired license is
deemed to be practicing without a license. However, a holder of a license may renew the license within 90 days after its expiration by complying with the requirements for renewal and payment of an additional fee. A license renewal within 90 days after expiration shall be effective retroactively to the expiration date.
If a person whose license has expired or who has had his license on inactive
status for more than 5 years has not maintained an active practice satisfactory
to the department, the Department shall determine, by
an evaluation process established by rule, his or her fitness to resume
active status and may require the person to complete a period of evaluated
clinical experience and may require successful completion of a practical
However, any person whose license
expired while he or she was (i) on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or called into service or training by the State militia or (ii) in training or education under the supervision of the United
States preliminary to induction into the military service, may have his
or her license renewed, reinstated, or restored without paying any lapsed
renewal or restoration fee, if within 2 years after termination of such
service, training, or education other than by dishonorable discharge, he or she
furnishes the Department with satisfactory proof that he or she has been so
engaged and that his or her service, training, or education has been so terminated.
(Source: P.A. 97-526, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1013, eff. 8-17-12; 98-147, eff. 1-1-14