Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 20/9

    (225 ILCS 20/9) (from Ch. 111, par. 6359)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 9. Qualifications for clinical social worker license. A person shall be qualified to be licensed as a clinical social worker if that person:
        (1) has applied in writing on the prescribed form;
        (2) is of good moral character. In determining good
moral character, the Department may take into consideration whether the applicant was engaged in conduct or actions that would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act;
        (3)(a) demonstrates to the satisfaction of the
Department that subsequent to securing a master's degree in social work from an approved program the applicant has successfully completed at least 3,000 hours of satisfactory, supervised clinical professional experience; or
        (b) demonstrates to the satisfaction of the
Department that such applicant has received a doctor's degree in social work from an approved program and has completed at least 2,000 hours of satisfactory, supervised clinical professional experience subsequent to the degree;
        (4) has passed the examination for the practice of
clinical social work as authorized by the Department or has completed the examination alternative set forth in Section 8.2; and
        (5) has paid the required fees.
(Source: P.A. 103-433, eff. 1-1-24.)