Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 20/11
(225 ILCS 20/11)
(from Ch. 111, par. 6361)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Licenses; renewal; restoration; person in military service; inactive status.
(a) The expiration date and renewal period for each license issued under this Act shall be set by rule.
The licensee may renew a license during the 60-day period preceding its
expiration date by paying the required fee and by demonstrating compliance
with any continuing education requirements. The Department shall adopt rules establishing minimum requirements of continuing education and means for verification of the completion of the continuing education requirements. The Department may, by rule, specify circumstances under which the continuing education requirements may be waived.
(b) Any person who has permitted a license to expire or who has a
license on inactive status may have it restored by submitting an application to
the Department and filing proof of fitness, as defined by rule, to have the license restored,
including, if appropriate, evidence which is satisfactory to the
Department certifying the active practice of clinical social work or
social work in another jurisdiction and by paying the required fee.
(b-5) If the person has not maintained an active practice in another
jurisdiction which is satisfactory to the Department, the Department
shall determine the person's fitness to resume active status. The Department may also require the person to
complete a specific period of evaluated clinical social work or social
work experience and may require successful completion of an examination for clinical social workers.
(b-7) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, any person whose license expired while on active duty with
the armed forces of the United States, while called into service or
training with the State Militia or in training or education under the
supervision of the United States government prior to induction into the
military service may have his or her license restored without paying any
fees if, within 2 years after the honorable termination of that service,
training or education, except under conditions other than honorable, the
Department is furnished with satisfactory evidence that the person has been
so engaged and that the service, training or education has
been so terminated.
(c) A license to practice shall not be denied any applicant because of the applicant's race, religion, creed, national origin, political beliefs or activities, age, sex, sexual orientation, or physical impairment.
(g) The Department shall indicate on each license the academic degree of
(h) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the following requirements for restoration of an inactive or expired license of 5 years or less as set forth in subsections (b) and (b-5) are suspended for any licensed clinical social worker who has had no disciplinary action taken against his
or her license in this State or in any other jurisdiction during the entire period of licensure: proof of fitness, certification of active practice in another jurisdiction, and the payment of a fee or renewal fee. An individual may not restore his or her license in accordance with this subsection more than once.
(Source: P.A. 102-326, eff. 1-1-22; 102-1053, eff. 6-10-22.)