Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/35B-30

    (215 ILCS 5/35B-30)
    Sec. 35B-30. Certificate of division.
    (a) After a plan of division has been adopted and approved, an officer or duly authorized representative of the dividing company shall sign a certificate of division.
    (b) The certificate of division shall set forth:
        (1) the name of the dividing company;
        (2) a statement disclosing whether the dividing
company will survive the division;
        (3) the name of each new company that will be created
by the division;
        (4) the kinds of insurance business enumerated in
Section 4 that the new company will be authorized to conduct;
        (5) the date that the division is to be effective,
which shall not be more than 90 days after the dividing company has filed the certificate of division with the recorder, with a concurrent copy to the Director;
        (6) a statement that the division was approved by the
Director in accordance with Section 35B-25, including the date when approval was served on the dividing company;
        (7) a statement that the dividing company provided,
no later than 10 business days after the dividing company filed the plan of division with the Director, reasonable notice to each reinsurer that is party to a reinsurance contract that is applicable to the policies included in the plan of division;
        (8) if the dividing company will survive the
division, an amendment to its articles of incorporation or bylaws approved as part of the plan of division;
        (9) for each new company created by the division, its
articles of incorporation and bylaws, provided that the articles of incorporation and bylaws need not state the name or address of an incorporator; and
        (10) a reasonable description of the capital,
surplus, other assets and liabilities, including policy liabilities, of the dividing company that are to be allocated to each resulting company.
    (c) The articles of incorporation and bylaws of each new company must satisfy the requirements of the laws of this State, provided that the documents need not be signed or include a provision that need not be included in a restatement of the document.
    (d) A certificate of division is effective when filed with the recorder, with a concurrent copy to the Director, as provided in this Section or on another date specified in the plan of division, whichever is later, provided that a certificate of division shall become effective not more than 90 days after it is filed with the recorder. A division is effective when the relevant certificate of division is effective.
    (e) If the dividing company files an amended plan of division with the Director after a certificate of division has been filed for a previous plan, then the dividing company shall file a certificate of stay with the recorder, with a concurrent copy to the Director. The certificate of stay shall identify the certificate of division being stayed and the date on which the amended plan of division was filed with the Director. If the Director issues an order on the amended plan, or if the dividing company withdraws the amended plan before an order is issued, then the dividing company shall file an amended certificate of division pursuant to this Section. Nothing in this subsection (e) shall allow a dividing company to amend its plan of division under Section 35B-15 on or after the effective date specified in a certificate of division that is active or that has been stayed.
(Source: P.A. 102-775, eff. 5-13-22; 103-90, eff. 6-9-23.)