Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/356s

    (215 ILCS 5/356s)
    Sec. 356s. Post-parturition care. An individual or group policy of accident and health insurance that provides maternity coverage and is amended, delivered, issued, or renewed after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1996 shall provide coverage for the following:
        (1) a minimum of 48 hours of inpatient care following
a vaginal delivery for the mother and the newborn, except as otherwise provided in this Section; or
        (2) a minimum of 96 hours of inpatient care following
a delivery by caesarian section for the mother and newborn, except as otherwise provided in this Section.
    A shorter length of hospital inpatient stay for services related to maternity and newborn care may be provided if the attending physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches determines, in accordance with the protocols and guidelines developed by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists or the American Academy of Pediatrics, that the mother and the newborn meet the appropriate guidelines for that length of stay based upon evaluation of the mother and newborn and the coverage and availability of a post-discharge physician office visit or in-home nurse visit to verify the condition of the infant in the first 48 hours after discharge.
(Source: P.A. 89-513, eff. 9-15-96; 90-14, eff. 7-1-97.)