Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/356b

    (215 ILCS 5/356b) (from Ch. 73, par. 968b)
    Sec. 356b. (a) This Section applies to the hospital and medical expense provisions of an accident or health insurance policy.
    (b) If a policy provides that coverage of a dependent person terminates upon attainment of the limiting age for dependent persons specified in the policy, the attainment of such limiting age does not operate to terminate the hospital and medical coverage of a person who, because of a disabling condition that occurred before attainment of the limiting age, is incapable of self-sustaining employment and is dependent on his or her parents or other care providers for lifetime care and supervision.
    (c) For purposes of subsection (b), "dependent on other care providers" is defined as requiring a Community Integrated Living Arrangement, group home, supervised apartment, or other residential services licensed or certified by the Department of Human Services (as successor to the Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities), the Department of Public Health, or the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid).
    (d) The insurer may inquire of the policyholder 2 months prior to attainment by a dependent of the limiting age set forth in the policy, or at any reasonable time thereafter, whether such dependent is in fact a person who has a disability and is dependent and, in the absence of proof submitted within 60 days of such inquiry that such dependent is a person who has a disability and is dependent may terminate coverage of such person at or after attainment of the limiting age. In the absence of such inquiry, coverage of any person who has a disability and is dependent shall continue through the term of such policy or any extension or renewal thereof.
    (e) This amendatory Act of 1969 is applicable to policies issued or renewed more than 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1969.
(Source: P.A. 99-143, eff. 7-27-15.)