Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/143.29

    (215 ILCS 5/143.29) (from Ch. 73, par. 755.29)
    Sec. 143.29. (a) The rates and premium charges for every policy of automobile liability insurance shall include appropriate reductions as determined by the insurer for any insured over age 55 upon successful completion of the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving Course or a motor vehicle crash prevention course, including an eLearning course, that is found by the Secretary of State to meet or exceed the standards of the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving Course's 8 hour classroom safety instruction program.
    (b) The premium reduction shall remain in effect for the qualifying insured for a period of 3 years from the date of successful completion of the crash prevention course, except that the insurer may elect to apply the premium reduction beginning either with the last effective date of the policy or the next renewal date of the policy if the reduction will result in a savings as though applied over a full 3 year period. An insured who has completed the course of instruction prior to July 1, 1982 shall receive the insurance premium reduction for only the period remaining within the 3 years from course completion. The period of premium reduction for an insured who has repeated the crash prevention course shall be based upon the last such course the insured has successfully completed.
    (c) Any crash prevention course approved by the Secretary of State under this Section shall be taught by an instructor approved by the Secretary of State, shall consist of at least 8 hours of classroom or eLearning equivalent instruction and shall provide for a certificate of completion. Records of certification of course completion shall be maintained in a manner acceptable to the Secretary of State.
    (d) Any person claiming eligibility for a rate or premium reduction shall be responsible for providing to his insurance company the information necessary to determine eligibility.
    (e) This Section shall not apply to:
        (1) any motor vehicle which is a part of a fleet or
is used for commercial purposes unless there is a regularly assigned principal operator.
        (2) any motor vehicle subject to a higher premium
rate because of the insured's previous motor vehicle claim experience or to any motor vehicle whose principal operator has been convicted of violating any of the motor vehicle laws of this State, until that operator shall have maintained a driving record free of crashes and moving violations for a continuous one year period, in which case such driver shall be eligible for a reduction the remaining 2 years of the 3 year period.
        (3) any motor vehicle whose principal operator has
had his drivers license revoked or suspended for any reason by the Secretary of State within the previous 36 months.
        (4) any policy of group automobile insurance under
which premiums are broadly averaged for the group rather than determined individually.
(Source: P.A. 102-397, eff. 1-1-22; 102-982, eff. 7-1-23.)