Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/143.19.1

    (215 ILCS 5/143.19.1) (from Ch. 73, par. 755.19.1)
    Sec. 143.19.1. Limits on exercise of right of nonrenewal. After a policy of automobile insurance, as defined in Section 143.13, has been effective or renewed for 5 or more years, the company shall not exercise its right of non-renewal unless:
        a. The policy was obtained through a material
misrepresentation; or
        b. Any insured violated any of the terms and
conditions of the policy; or
        c. The named insured failed to disclose fully his
motor vehicle crashes and moving traffic violations for the preceding 36 months, if such information is called for in the application; or
        d. Any insured made a false or fraudulent claim or
knowingly aided or abetted another in the presentation of such a claim; or
        e. The named insured or any other operator who either
resides in the same household or customarily operates an automobile insured under such a policy:
            1. Has, within the 12 months prior to the notice
of non-renewal had his drivers license under suspension or revocation; or
            2. Is or becomes subject to epilepsy or heart
attacks, and such individual does not produce a certificate from a physician testifying to his unqualified ability to operate a motor vehicle safely; or
            3. Has a crash record, conviction record
(criminal or traffic), or a physical or mental condition which is such that his operation of an automobile might endanger the public safety; or
            4. Has, within the 36 months prior to the notice
of non-renewal, been addicted to the use of narcotics or other drugs; or
            5. Has been convicted or pretrial release has
been revoked, during the 36 months immediately preceding the notice of non-renewal, for any felony, criminal negligence resulting in death, homicide or assault arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle, operating a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated condition or while under the influence of drugs, being intoxicated while in or about an automobile or while having custody of an automobile, leaving the scene of a crash without stopping to report, theft or unlawful taking of a motor vehicle, making false statements in an application for an operators or chauffeurs license, or has been convicted or pretrial release has been revoked for 3 or more violations within the 12 months immediately preceding the notice of non-renewal, of any law, ordinance or regulation limiting the speed of motor vehicles or any of the provisions of the motor vehicle laws of any state, violation of which constitutes a misdemeanor, whether or not the violations were repetitions of the same offense or different offenses; or
        f. The insured automobile is:
            1. So mechanically defective that its operation
might endanger public safety; or
            2. Used in carrying passengers for hire or
compensation (the use of an automobile for a car pool shall not be considered use of an automobile for hire or compensation); or
            3. Used in the business of transportation of
flammables or explosives; or
            4. An authorized emergency vehicle; or
            5. Changed in shape or condition during the
policy period so as to increase the risk substantially; or
            6. Subject to an inspection law and it has not
been inspected or, if inspected, has failed to qualify; or
        g. The notice of the intention not to renew is mailed
to the insured at least 60 days before the date of nonrenewal as provided in Section 143.17.
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 1-1-23; 102-982, eff. 7-1-23.)