Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
210 ILCS 45/3-202.05
(210 ILCS 45/3-202.05)
Staffing ratios effective July 1, 2010 and thereafter.
(a) For the purpose of computing staff to resident ratios, direct care staff shall include:
(1) registered nurses;
(2) licensed practical nurses;
(3) certified nurse assistants;
(4) psychiatric services rehabilitation aides;
(5) rehabilitation and therapy aides;
(6) psychiatric services rehabilitation coordinators;
(7) assistant directors of nursing;
(8) 50% of the Director of Nurses' time; and
(9) 30% of the Social Services Directors' time.
The Department shall, by rule, allow certain facilities subject to 77 Ill. Admin. Code 300.4000 and following (Subpart S) to utilize specialized clinical staff, as defined in rules, to count towards the staffing ratios.
Within 120 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the Department shall promulgate rules specific to the staffing requirements for facilities federally defined as Institutions for Mental Disease. These rules shall recognize the unique nature of individuals with chronic mental health conditions, shall include minimum requirements for specialized clinical staff, including clinical social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists, and direct care staff set forth in paragraphs (4) through (6) and any other specialized staff which may be utilized and deemed necessary to count toward staffing ratios.
Within 120 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the Department shall promulgate rules specific to the staffing requirements for facilities licensed under the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013. These rules shall recognize the unique nature of individuals with chronic mental health conditions, shall include minimum requirements for specialized clinical staff, including clinical social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists, and direct care staff set forth in paragraphs (4) through (6) and any other specialized staff which may be utilized and deemed necessary to count toward staffing ratios.
(b-5) For purposes of the minimum staffing ratios in this Section, all residents shall be classified as requiring either skilled care or intermediate care.
As used in this subsection:
"Intermediate care" means basic nursing care and other restorative services under periodic medical direction.
"Skilled care" means skilled nursing care, continuous skilled nursing observations, restorative nursing, and other services under professional direction with frequent medical supervision.
(c) Facilities shall notify the Department within 60 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, in a form and manner prescribed by the Department, of the staffing ratios in effect on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly for both intermediate and skilled care and the number of residents receiving each level of care.
(5) Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum staffing ratios shall be increased to 3.8 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing skilled care and 2.5 hours of nursing and personal care each day for a resident needing intermediate care.
(e) Ninety days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, a minimum of 25% of nursing and personal care time shall be provided by licensed nurses, with at least 10% of nursing and personal care time provided by registered nurses. These minimum requirements shall remain in effect until an acuity based registered nurse requirement is promulgated by rule concurrent with the adoption of the Resource Utilization Group classification-based payment methodology, as provided in Section 5-5.2 of the Illinois Public Aid Code. Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses employed by a facility in excess of these requirements may be used to satisfy the remaining 75% of the nursing and personal care time requirements. Notwithstanding this subsection, no staffing requirement in statute in effect on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly shall be reduced on account of this subsection.
(f) The Department shall submit proposed rules for adoption by January 1, 2020 establishing a system for determining compliance with minimum staffing set forth in this Section and the requirements of 77 Ill. Adm. Code 300.1230 adjusted for any waivers granted under Section 3-303.1. Compliance shall be determined quarterly by comparing the number of hours provided per resident per day using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' payroll-based journal and the facility's daily census, broken down by intermediate and skilled care as self-reported by the facility to the Department on a quarterly basis. The Department shall use the quarterly payroll-based journal and the self-reported census to calculate the number of hours provided per resident per day and compare this ratio to the minimum staffing standards required under this Section, as impacted by any waivers granted under Section 3-303.1. Discrepancies between job titles contained in this Section and the payroll-based journal shall be addressed by rule. The manner in which the Department requests payroll-based journal information to be submitted shall align with the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' requirements that allow providers to submit the quarterly data in an aggregate manner.
(g) The Department shall submit proposed rules for adoption by January 1, 2020 establishing monetary penalties for facilities not in compliance with minimum staffing standards under this Section. No monetary penalty may be issued for noncompliance during the implementation period, which shall be July 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021. If a facility is found to be noncompliant during the implementation period, the Department shall provide a written notice identifying the staffing deficiencies and require the facility to provide a sufficiently detailed correction plan to meet the statutory minimum staffing levels. Monetary penalties shall be imposed beginning no later than January 1, 2022 and quarterly thereafter and shall be based on the latest quarter for which the Department has data. Monetary penalties shall be established based on a formula that calculates on a daily basis the cost of wages and benefits for the missing staffing hours. All notices of noncompliance shall include the computations used to determine noncompliance and establishing the variance between minimum staffing ratios and the Department's computations. The penalty for the first offense shall be 125% of the cost of wages and benefits for the missing staffing hours. The penalty shall increase to 150% of the cost of wages and benefits for the missing staffing hours for the second offense and 200% the cost of wages and benefits for the missing staffing hours for the third and all subsequent offenses. The penalty shall be imposed regardless of whether the facility has committed other violations of this Act during the same period that the staffing offense occurred. The penalty may not be waived, but the Department shall have the discretion to determine the gravity of the violation in situations where there is no more than a 10% deviation from the staffing requirements and make appropriate adjustments to the penalty. The Department is granted discretion to waive the penalty when unforeseen circumstances have occurred that resulted in call-offs of scheduled staff. This provision shall be applied no more than 6 times per quarter. Nothing in this Section diminishes a facility's right to appeal.
(Source: P.A. 101-10, eff. 6-5-19; 102-16, eff. 6-17-21.)