Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

210 ILCS 9/55

    (210 ILCS 9/55)
    Sec. 55. Grounds for denial of a license. An application for a license may be denied for any of the following reasons:
        (1) failure to meet any of the standards set forth in
this Act or by rules adopted by the Department under this Act;
        (2) conviction of the applicant, or if the applicant
is a firm, partnership, or association, of any of its members, or if a corporation, the conviction of the corporation or any of its officers or stockholders, or of the person designated to manage or supervise the establishment, of a felony or of 2 or more misdemeanors involving moral turpitude during the previous 5 years as shown by a certified copy of the record of the court of conviction;
        (3) personnel insufficient in number or unqualified
by training or experience to properly care for the residents;
        (4) insufficient financial or other resources to
operate and conduct the establishment in accordance with standards adopted by the Department under this Act;
        (5) revocation of a license during the previous 5
years, if such prior license was issued to the individual applicant, a controlling owner or controlling combination of owners of the applicant; or any affiliate of the individual applicant or controlling owner of the applicant and such individual applicant, controlling owner of the applicant or affiliate of the applicant was a controlling owner of the prior license; provided, however, that the denial of an application for a license pursuant to this Section must be supported by evidence that the prior revocation renders the applicant unqualified or incapable of meeting or maintaining an establishment in accordance with the standards and rules adopted by the Department under this Act; or
        (6) the establishment is not under the direct
supervision of a full-time director, as defined by rule.
    The Department shall deny an application for a license if 6 months after submitting its initial application the applicant has not provided the Department with all of the information required for review and approval or the applicant is not actively pursuing the processing of its application. In addition, the Department shall determine whether the applicant has violated any provision of the Nursing Home Care Act, the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013, the ID/DD Community Care Act, or the MC/DD Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-104, eff. 7-22-13; 99-180, eff. 7-29-15.)