Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 660/10

    (205 ILCS 660/10) (from Ch. 17, par. 5223)
    Sec. 10. Denial, revocation, fine, or suspension of license.
    (a) The Director may revoke or suspend a license or fine a licensee if the licensee violates any provisions of this Act.
    (b) In every case in which a license is revoked or suspended, a licensee is fined, or an application for a license or renewal of a license is denied, the Director shall serve notice of his or her action, including a statement of the reasons for the action either personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested. Service by certified mail shall be deemed completed when the notice is deposited in the U.S. mail.
    (c) An order revoking or suspending a license or an order denying renewal of a license shall take effect upon service of the order, unless the licensee requests, in writing, within 10 days after the date of service, a hearing. In the event a hearing is requested, the order shall be stayed until a final administrative order is entered.
    (d) If the licensee requests a hearing, the Director shall schedule a hearing within 30 days after the request for a hearing unless otherwise agreed to by the parties.
    (e) The hearing shall be held at the time and place designated by the Director. The Director and any administrative law judge designated by him or her shall have the power to administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena witnesses and compel their attendance, take evidence, and require the production of books, papers, correspondence, and other records or information that he or she considers relevant or material to the inquiry.
    (f) The costs for the administrative hearing shall be set by rule.
    (g) The Director shall have the authority to prescribe rules for the administration of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 92-398, eff. 1-1-02.)