Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(105 ILCS 5/2-3.13a)
(from Ch. 122, par. 2-3.13a)
School records; transferring students.
(a) The State
Board of Education shall establish and implement rules requiring all of the
public schools and all private or nonpublic elementary and secondary
schools located in this State, whenever any such school has a student who
is transferring to any other public elementary or secondary school located in
this or in any other state, to forward within 10 days of notice of the
student's transfer an unofficial record of that student's grades to the school
to which such student is transferring. Each public school at the same time
also shall forward to the school to which the student is transferring the
remainder of the student's school student records as required by the Illinois
School Student Records Act.
In addition, if a student is transferring from a public school, whether
located in this or any other state, from which the
student has been suspended or expelled for knowingly possessing in a school
building or on school grounds a weapon as defined in the Gun Free Schools Act
(20 U.S.C. 8921 et seq.), for knowingly possessing, selling, or delivering in
a school building or on school grounds a controlled substance or cannabis, or
for battering a staff member of the school, and
if the period of suspension or expulsion has not expired at the time the
student attempts to transfer into another public school in the same or any
other school district: (i) any school student records required to be
transferred shall include the date and duration of the period of suspension or
expulsion; and (ii) with the exception of transfers into the Department of
Juvenile Justice school district, the student shall not be permitted to attend
class in the
public school into which he or she is transferring until the student has served
the entire period of the suspension or expulsion imposed by the school from
which the student is transferring, provided that the school board may approve
the placement of the student in an alternative school program established under
Article 13A of this Code.
A school district may adopt a policy providing that if a student is
suspended or expelled for any reason from any public or private school in
this or any other state, the student must complete the entire term of the
suspension or expulsion before being admitted into the school district.
This policy may allow placement of the student in an alternative school
program established under Article 13A of this Code, if available, for the
the suspension or expulsion.
Each public school
and each private or nonpublic elementary or secondary school in this State
shall within 10 days after the student has paid all of his or her
outstanding fines and fees and at its own expense forward an official
transcript of the scholastic records of each student transferring from that
school in strict accordance with the provisions of this Section and the rules
established by the State Board of Education as herein provided.
(b) The State Board of Education shall develop a one-page standard form that
Illinois school districts are required to provide to any student who is
moving out of
the school district and that
contains the information about whether or not the
student is "in good standing" and whether or not his or her medical records are
up-to-date and complete. As used in this Section, "in good standing" means
that the student is not being disciplined by a suspension or expulsion, but is
entitled to attend classes. No school district is required to admit a new
student who is transferring from another Illinois school district unless he
or she can produce the standard form from the student's
previous school district enrollment.
No school district is required to admit a new student who is transferring
from an out-of-state public school unless the parent or guardian of the
student certifies in writing that the student is not currently serving a
suspension or expulsion imposed by the school from which the student is
(c) The State Board of Education shall, by rule, establish a system to provide for the accurate tracking of transfer students. This system shall, at a minimum, require that a student be counted as a dropout in the calculation of a school's or school district's annual student dropout rate unless the school or school district to which the student transferred (known hereafter in this subsection (c) as the transferee school or school district) sends notification to the school or school district from which the student transferred (known hereafter in this subsection (c) as the transferor school or school district) documenting that the student has enrolled in the transferee school or school district. This notification must occur on or before July 31 following the school year during which the student withdraws from the transferor school or school district or the student shall be counted in the calculation of the transferor school's or school district's annual student dropout rate. A request by the transferee school or school district to the transferor school or school district seeking the student's academic transcripts or medical records shall be considered without limitation adequate documentation of enrollment. Each transferor school or school district shall keep documentation of such transfer students for the minimum period provided in the Illinois School Student Records Act. All records indicating the school or school district to which a student transferred are subject to the Illinois School Student Records Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1423, eff. 8-3-10.)