Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

105 ILCS 5/14-13.01

    (105 ILCS 5/14-13.01) (from Ch. 122, par. 14-13.01)
    Sec. 14-13.01. Reimbursement payable by State; amounts for personnel and transportation.
    (a) Through fiscal year 2017, for staff working on behalf of children who have not been identified as eligible for special education and for eligible children with physical disabilities, including all eligible children whose placement has been determined under Section 14-8.02 in hospital or home instruction, 1/2 of the teacher's salary but not more than $1,000 annually per child or $9,000 per teacher, whichever is less.
    (a-5) A child qualifies for home or hospital instruction if it is anticipated that, due to a medical condition, the child will be unable to attend school, and instead must be instructed at home or in the hospital, for a period of 2 or more consecutive weeks or on an ongoing intermittent basis. For purposes of this Section, "ongoing intermittent basis" means that the child's medical condition is of such a nature or severity that it is anticipated that the child will be absent from school due to the medical condition for periods of at least 2 days at a time multiple times during the school year totaling at least 10 days or more of absences. There shall be no requirement that a child be absent from school a minimum number of days before the child qualifies for home or hospital instruction. In order to establish eligibility for home or hospital services, a student's parent or guardian must submit to the child's school district of residence a written statement from a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, a licensed physician assistant, or a licensed advanced practice registered nurse stating the existence of such medical condition, the impact on the child's ability to participate in education, and the anticipated duration or nature of the child's absence from school. Home or hospital instruction may commence upon receipt of a written physician's, physician assistant's, or advanced practice registered nurse's statement in accordance with this Section, but instruction shall commence not later than 5 school days after the school district receives the physician's, physician assistant's, or advanced practice registered nurse's statement. Special education and related services required by the child's IEP or services and accommodations required by the child's federal Section 504 plan must be implemented as part of the child's home or hospital instruction, unless the IEP team or federal Section 504 plan team determines that modifications are necessary during the home or hospital instruction due to the child's condition.
    (a-10) Through fiscal year 2017, eligible children to be included in any reimbursement under this paragraph must regularly receive a minimum of one hour of instruction each school day, or in lieu thereof of a minimum of 5 hours of instruction in each school week in order to qualify for full reimbursement under this Section. If the attending physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse for such a child has certified that the child should not receive as many as 5 hours of instruction in a school week, however, reimbursement under this paragraph on account of that child shall be computed proportionate to the actual hours of instruction per week for that child divided by 5.
    (a-15) The State Board of Education shall establish rules governing the required qualifications of staff providing home or hospital instruction.
    (b) For children described in Section 14-1.02, 80% of the cost of transportation approved as a related service in the Individualized Education Program for each student in order to take advantage of special educational facilities. Transportation costs shall be determined in the same fashion as provided in Section 29-5 of this Code. For purposes of this subsection (b), the dates for processing claims specified in Section 29-5 shall apply.
    (c) Through fiscal year 2017, for each qualified worker, the annual sum of $9,000.
    (d) Through fiscal year 2017, for one full-time qualified director of the special education program of each school district which maintains a fully approved program of special education, the annual sum of $9,000. Districts participating in a joint agreement special education program shall not receive such reimbursement if reimbursement is made for a director of the joint agreement program.
    (e) (Blank).
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) Through fiscal year 2017, for readers working with blind or partially seeing children, 1/2 of their salary but not more than $400 annually per child. Readers may be employed to assist such children and shall not be required to be certified but prior to employment shall meet standards set up by the State Board of Education.
    (h) Through fiscal year 2017, for non-certified employees, as defined by rules promulgated by the State Board of Education, who deliver services to students with IEPs, 1/2 of the salary paid or $3,500 per employee, whichever is less.
    (i) The State Board of Education shall set standards and prescribe rules for determining the allocation of reimbursement under this section on less than a full time basis and for less than a school year.
    When any school district eligible for reimbursement under this Section operates a school or program approved by the State Superintendent of Education for a number of days in excess of the adopted school calendar but not to exceed 235 school days, such reimbursement shall be increased by 1/180 of the amount or rate paid hereunder for each day such school is operated in excess of 180 days per calendar year.
    Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any school district receiving a payment under this Section or under Section 14-7.02, 14-7.02b, or 29-5 of this Code may classify all or a portion of the funds that it receives in a particular fiscal year or from evidence-based funding pursuant to Section 18-8.15 of this Code as funds received in connection with any funding program for which it is entitled to receive funds from the State in that fiscal year (including, without limitation, any funding program referenced in this Section), regardless of the source or timing of the receipt. The district may not classify more funds as funds received in connection with the funding program than the district is entitled to receive in that fiscal year for that program. Any classification by a district must be made by a resolution of its board of education. The resolution must identify the amount of any payments or evidence-based funding to be classified under this paragraph and must specify the funding program to which the funds are to be treated as received in connection therewith. This resolution is controlling as to the classification of funds referenced therein. A certified copy of the resolution must be sent to the State Superintendent of Education. The resolution shall still take effect even though a copy of the resolution has not been sent to the State Superintendent of Education in a timely manner. No classification under this paragraph by a district shall affect the total amount or timing of money the district is entitled to receive under this Code. No classification under this paragraph by a district shall in any way relieve the district from or affect any requirements that otherwise would apply with respect to that funding program, including any accounting of funds by source, reporting expenditures by original source and purpose, reporting requirements, or requirements of providing services.
    No funding shall be provided to school districts under this Section after fiscal year 2017. In fiscal year 2018 and each fiscal year thereafter, all funding received by a school district from the State pursuant to Section 18-8.15 of this Code that is attributable to personnel reimbursements for special education pupils must be used for special education services authorized under this Code.
(Source: P.A. 100-443, eff. 8-25-17; 100-465, eff. 8-31-17; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18.)