Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
55 ILCS 5/4-12002
(55 ILCS 5/4-12002)
(from Ch. 34, par. 4-12002)
Fees of recorder in third class counties.
Except as provided for in Section 4-12002.1, the fees of
the recorder in counties of the third class for recording deeds or other
instruments in writing and maps of plats of additions, subdivisions or
otherwise, and for certifying copies of records, shall be paid in advance
and shall be as follows:
For recording deeds or other instruments $20 for the first 2 pages
thereof, plus $2 for each additional page thereof. The aggregate minimum fee
any one instrument shall not be less than $20.
For recording deeds or other instruments wherein the premises
affected thereby are referred to by document number and not by legal
description the recorder shall charge a fee of $4 in addition
to that hereinabove referred to for each document number therein noted.
For recording deeds or other instruments wherein more than one tract,
parcel or lot is described and such additional tract, or tracts, parcel
or parcels, lot or lots is or are described therein as falling in a
separate or different addition or subdivision the recorder
shall charge as an additional fee, to that herein provided, the sum of
$2 for each additional addition or subdivision referred to in such deed
For recording any document that affects an interest in real property other than documents which solely affect or relate to an easement for water, sewer, electricity, gas, telephone or other public service, the recorder shall charge a fee of $1 per document to all filers of documents not filed by any State agency, any unit of local government, or any school district. Fifty cents of the $1 fee hereby established shall be deposited into the County General Revenue Fund. The remaining $0.50 shall be deposited into the County Recorder Document Storage System Fund and may not be appropriated or expended for any other purpose. The additional amounts available to the recorder for expenditure from the County Recorder Document Storage System Fund shall not offset or reduce any other county appropriations or funding for the office of the recorder.
For recording maps or plats of additions, subdivisions or otherwise
(including the spreading of the same of record in well bound books) $100
plus $2 for each tract, parcel or lot contained therein.
For certified copies of records the same fees as for recording, but
in no case shall the fee for a certified copy of a map or plat of an
addition, subdivision or otherwise exceed $200.
For non-certified copies of records, an amount not to exceed one half of
the amount provided herein for certified copies, according to a standard scale
of fees, established by county ordinance and made public.
For filing of each release of any chattel mortgage or trust deed
which has been filed but not recorded and for indexing the same in the
book to be kept for that purpose $10.
For processing the sworn or affirmed statement required for filing a deed
or assignment of a beneficial interest in a land trust in accordance with
Section 3-5020 of this Code, $2.
The recorder shall charge an additional fee, in an amount equal to the
fee otherwise provided by law, for recording a document (other than a
document filed under the Plat Act or the Uniform Commercial Code) that does
not conform to
the following standards:
(1) The document shall consist of one or more
individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11 inches by 17 inches shall be recorded without charging an additional fee.
(2) The document shall be legibly printed in black
ink, by hand, type, or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly.
(3) The document shall be on white paper of not less
than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on the top, the bottom, and each side. Margins may be used only for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form numbers, page numbers, and customer notations.
(4) The first page of the document shall contain a
blank space, measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches, from the upper right corner.
(5) The document shall not have any attachment
stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.
A document that does not conform to these standards shall
not be recorded except upon payment of the additional fee required under
this paragraph. This paragraph, as amended by this amendatory Act of 1995,
applies only to documents dated after the effective date of this amendatory
Act of 1995.
The recorder shall collect a $9 Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge for the recordation of any real estate-related document. Payment of the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge shall be evidenced by a receipt that shall be marked upon or otherwise affixed to the real estate-related document by the recorder. The form of this receipt shall be prescribed by the Department of Revenue and the receipts shall be issued by the Department of Revenue to each county recorder.
The recorder shall not collect the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge from any State agency, any unit of local government or any school district.
On the 15th day of each month, each county recorder shall report
to the Department of Revenue, on a form prescribed by the Department,
the number of real estate-related documents recorded for which
the Rental Housing Support Program
State surcharge was collected. Each recorder shall submit $9 of each surcharge collected in the
preceding month to the Department of Revenue and the Department
shall deposit these amounts in the Rental Housing Support Program Fund. Subject to appropriation, amounts in the Fund may be expended only for the purpose of funding and administering the Rental Housing Support Program.
For purposes of this Section, "real estate-related document" means that term as it is defined in Section 7 of the Rental Housing Support Program Act.
The fee requirements of this Section apply to units of local
government and school districts.
Regardless of any other provision in this Section, the maximum fee that may
be collected from the Department of Revenue for filing or indexing a
lien, certificate of lien release or subordination, or any other type of notice
or other documentation affecting or concerning a lien is $5. Regardless of any
other provision in this Section, the maximum fee that may be collected from the
Department of Revenue for indexing each additional name in excess of
one for any lien, certificate of lien release or subordination, or any other
type of notice or other documentation affecting or concerning a lien is $1.
(Source: P.A. 100-1034, eff. 1-1-19