Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

50 ILCS 355/5-37

    (50 ILCS 355/5-37)
    Sec. 5-37. Insurance policy requirement. A third party is required to file and maintain in force an insurance policy issued by an insurance company authorized to transact fidelity and surety business in the State of Illinois. The insurance policy shall be for coverage of potential legal claims, including, but not limited to, penalties set forth under Section 5-60, embezzlement, dishonesty, fraud, omissions or errors, or other financial wrongdoing in the course of providing services. The policy shall be in the sum of $500,000. The policy shall be continuous in form and run concurrently with the original and each renewal certification period unless terminated by the insurance company. An insurance company may terminate a policy and avoid further liability by filing a 60-day notice of termination with the Department and at the same time sending the same notice to the licensee. A licensee that receives a notice of termination must promptly notify each municipality and county with whom it has a contract under this Act of the notice of termination. A license shall be canceled on the termination date of the policy unless a new policy is filed with the Department and becomes effective at the termination date of the prior policy. If a policy has been canceled under this Section, the third party must file a new application and will be considered a new applicant if it obtains a new policy.
(Source: P.A. 101-628, eff. 6-1-20; 102-40, eff. 6-25-21.)