Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

40 ILCS 5/15-168

    (40 ILCS 5/15-168) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 15-168)
    Sec. 15-168. To require information.
    (a) To require such information as shall be necessary for the proper operation of the system from any participant or beneficiary or annuitant or from any current or former employer of a participant or annuitant. Such information may include, but is not limited to, employment contracts.
    (b) When the System submits a request for information under subsection (a) of this Section, the employer shall respond within 90 calendar days of the System's request. Beginning on the 91st calendar day after the System's request, the System may assess a penalty of $250 per calendar day until receipt of the information by the System, with a maximum penalty of $25,000. All payments must be received within one calendar year after receipt of the information by the System or one calendar year of reaching the maximum penalty of $25,000, whichever occurs earlier. If the employer fails to make complete payment within the applicable timeframe, then the System may, after giving notice to the employer, certify the delinquent amount to the State Comptroller, and the Comptroller shall thereupon deduct the certified delinquent amount from State funds payable to the employer and pay them instead to the System.
    (c) If a participant, beneficiary, or annuitant fails to provide any information that is necessary for the calculation, payment, or finalization of any benefit under this Article within 90 calendar days of the date of the System's request under subsection (a) of this Section, then the System may immediately cease processing the benefit and may not pay any additional benefit payment to the participant, beneficiary, or annuitant until the requested information is provided.
(Source: P.A. 98-92, eff. 7-16-13; 99-450, eff. 8-24-15; 99-897, eff. 1-1-17.)