Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

40 ILCS 5/13-310

    (40 ILCS 5/13-310) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 13-310)
    Sec. 13-310. Ordinary disability benefit.
    (a) Any employee who becomes disabled as the result of any cause other than injury or illness incurred in the performance of duty for the employer or any other employer, or while engaged in self-employment activities, shall be entitled to an ordinary disability benefit. The eligible period for this benefit shall be 25% of the employee's total actual service prior to the date of disability with a cumulative maximum period of 5 years.
    (b) The benefit shall be allowed only if the employee files an application in writing with the Board, and a medical report is submitted by at least one licensed health care professional as part of the employee's application.
    The benefit is not payable for any disability which begins during any period of unpaid leave of absence. No benefit shall be allowed for any period of disability prior to 30 days before application is made, unless the Board finds good cause for the delay in filing the application. The benefit shall not be paid during any period for which the employee receives or is entitled to receive any part of salary.
    The benefit is not payable for any disability which begins during any period of absence from duty other than allowable vacation time in any calendar year. An employee whose disability begins during any such ineligible period of absence from service may not receive benefits until the employee recovers from the disability and is in service for at least 15 consecutive working days after such recovery.
    In the case of an employee who first enters service on or after June 13, 1997, an ordinary disability benefit is not payable for the first 3 days of disability that would otherwise be payable under this Section if the disability does not continue for at least 11 additional days.
    Beginning on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, an employee who first entered service on or after June 13, 1997 is also eligible for ordinary disability benefits on the 31st day after the last day worked, provided all sick leave is exhausted.
    (c) The benefit shall be 50% of the employee's salary at the date of disability, and shall terminate when the earliest of the following occurs:
        (1) The employee returns to work or receives a
retirement annuity paid wholly or in part under this Article;
        (2) The disability ceases;
        (3) The employee willfully and continuously refuses
to follow medical advice and treatment to enable the employee to return to work. However this provision does not apply to an employee who relies in good faith on treatment by prayer through spiritual means alone in accordance with the tenets and practice of a recognized church or religious denomination, by a duly accredited practitioner thereof;
        (4) The employee (i) refuses to submit to a
reasonable physical examination within 30 days of application by a licensed health care professional appointed by the Board, (ii) in the case of chronic alcoholism, the employee refuses to join a rehabilitation program licensed by the Department of Public Health of the State of Illinois and certified by the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Hospitals, (iii) fails or refuses to consent to and sign an authorization allowing the Board to receive copies of or to examine the employee's medical and hospital records, or (iv) fails or refuses to provide complete information regarding any other employment for compensation he or she has received since becoming disabled; or
        (5) The eligible period for this benefit has been
    The first payment of the benefit shall be made not later than one month after the same has been granted, and subsequent payments shall be made at least monthly.
(Source: P.A. 102-210, eff. 7-30-21; 103-523, eff. 1-1-24.)