Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 2105/2105-207

    (20 ILCS 2105/2105-207)
    Sec. 2105-207. Records of Department actions.
    (a) Any licensee subject to a licensing Act administered by the Division of Professional Regulation and who has been subject to disciplinary action by the Department may file an application with the Department on forms provided by the Department, along with the required fee of $175, to have the records classified as confidential, not for public release, and considered expunged for reporting purposes if:
        (1) the application is submitted more than 3 years
after the disciplinary offense or offenses occurred or after restoration of the license, whichever is later;
        (2) the licensee has had no incidents of discipline
under the licensing Act since the disciplinary offense or offenses identified in the application occurred;
        (3) the Department has no pending investigations
against the licensee; and
        (4) the licensee is not currently in a disciplinary
    (b) An application to make disciplinary records confidential shall only be considered by the Department for an offense or action relating to:
        (1) failure to pay taxes;
        (2) continuing education;
        (3) failure to renew a license on time;
        (4) failure to obtain or renew a certificate of
registration or ancillary license;
        (5) advertising;
        (5.1) discipline based on criminal charges or
            (A) that did not arise from the licensed activity
and was unrelated to the licensed activity; or
            (B) that were dismissed or for which records have
been sealed or expunged;
        (5.2) past probationary status of a license issued to
new applicants on the sole or partial basis of prior convictions; or
        (6) any grounds for discipline removed from the
licensing Act.
    (c) An application shall be submitted to and considered by the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation upon submission of an application and the required non-refundable fee. The Department may establish additional requirements by rule. The Department is not required to report the removal of any disciplinary record to any national database. Nothing in this Section shall prohibit the Department from using a previous discipline for any regulatory purpose or from releasing records of a previous discipline upon request from law enforcement, or other governmental body as permitted by law. Classification of records as confidential shall result in removal of records of discipline from records kept pursuant to Sections 2105-200 and 2105-205 of this Act.
    (d) Any applicant for licensure or a licensee whose petition for review is granted by the Department pursuant to subsection (a-1) of Section 2105-165 of this Law may file an application with the Department on forms provided by the Department to have records relating to his or her permanent denial or permanent revocation classified as confidential and not for public release and considered expunged for reporting purposes in the same manner and under the same terms as is provided in this Section for the offenses listed in subsection (b) of this Section, except that the requirements of a 7-year waiting period and the $200 application fee do not apply.
(Source: P.A. 100-262, eff. 8-22-17; 100-286, eff. 1-1-18; 100-863, eff. 8-14-18; 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)