Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(15 ILCS 335/9)
(from Ch. 124, par. 29)
(a) Any person having a valid identification card which expires on
his or her 21st birthday, or which expires 3 months after his
or her 21st birthday,
may not apply for renewal of his or her existing identification card. A subsequent
application filed by persons under this subsection, on or after their 21st
birthday, shall be considered an application for a new
card under Section 5
of this Act.
(b) Any person having a valid identification card, except those under
subsection (a), may apply for a one-time renewal, in a manner prescribed by the
Secretary of State, within 30 days after the expiration of the identification
card. A subsequent application filed by that person shall be considered an
application for a new card under Section 5 of this Act. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of Section 8 of this Act, any identification
renewed under this subsection shall be valid for 5 years after the expiration
date of the identification card as originally issued under Section 5 of this
Act. The Secretary of State, in his or her discretion, may provide that applications for the one-time renewal under this subsection (b) may be made by telephone, mail, or the Internet, subject to any eligibility criteria and other requirements that the Secretary of State deems appropriate.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act to the contrary, a person convicted of a sex offense as defined in Section 2 of the Sex Offender Registration Act may not renew his or her Illinois Identification Card or Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Card by telephone, mail, or the Internet.
(Source: P.A. 99-305, eff. 1-1-16