Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

15 ILCS 15/3.1

    (15 ILCS 15/3.1)
    Sec. 3.1. "Agency directly responsible to the Governor" or "agency" means any office, officer, division, or part thereof, and any other office, nonelective officer, department, division, bureau, board, or commission in the executive branch of State government, except that it does not apply to any agency whose primary function is service to the General Assembly or the Judicial Branch of State government, or to any agency administered by the Attorney General, Secretary of State, State Comptroller or State Treasurer. In addition the term does not apply to the following agencies created by law with the primary responsibility of exercising regulatory or adjudicatory functions independently of the Governor:
    (1) the State Board of Elections;
    (2) the State Board of Education;
    (3) the Illinois Commerce Commission;
    (4) the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission;
    (5) the Civil Service Commission;
    (6) the Fair Employment Practices Commission;
    (7) the Pollution Control Board;
    (8) the Illinois State Police Merit Board;
    (9) the Illinois Racing Board;
    (10) the Illinois Power Agency;
    (11) the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board; and
    (12) the Illinois Liquor Control Commission.
(Source: P.A. 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)