Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

5 ILCS 225/2

    (5 ILCS 225/2) (from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 602)
    Sec. 2. For the purposes of this Act:
    (a) "Railroad passenger service" means any railroad passenger service within the State of Illinois, including the equipment and facilities used in connection therewith, with the exception of the basic system operated by the National Railroad Passenger Corporation pursuant to Title II and Section 403(a) of the Federal Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970.
    (b) "Federal Railroad Corporation" means the National Railroad Passenger Corporation established pursuant to an Act of Congress known as the "Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970."
    (c) "Transportation system" means any and all modes of public transportation within the State, including, but not limited to, transportation of persons or property by rapid transit, rail, bus, and aircraft, and all equipment, facilities and property, real and personal, used in connection therewith.
    (d) "Carrier" means any corporation, authority, partnership, association, person or district authorized to maintain a transportation system within the State with the exception of the Federal Railroad Corporation.
    (e) "Units of local government" means cities, villages, incorporated towns, counties, municipalities, townships, and special districts, including any district created pursuant to the "Local Mass Transit District Act", approved July 21, 1959, as amended; any Authority created pursuant to the "Metropolitan Transit Authority Act", approved April 12, 1945, as amended; and, any authority, commission or other entity which by virtue of an interstate compact approved by Congress is authorized to provide mass transportation.
    (f) "Universities" means all public institutions of higher education as defined in an "Act creating a Board of Higher Education, defining its powers and duties, making an appropriation therefor, and repealing an Act herein named", approved August 22, 1961, as amended, and all private institutions of higher education as defined in the Illinois Finance Authority Act.
    (g) "Department" means the Illinois Department of Transportation, or such other department designated by law to perform the duties and functions of the Illinois Department of Transportation prior to January 1, 1972.
    (h) "Association" means any Transportation Service Association created pursuant to Section 4 of this Act.
    (i) "Contracting Parties" means any units of local government or universities which have associated and joined together pursuant to Section 3 of this Act.
    (j) "Governing authorities" means (1) the city council or similar legislative body of a city; (2) the board of trustees or similar body of a village or incorporated town; (3) the council of a municipality under the commission form of municipal government; (4) the board of trustees in a township; (5) the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois, the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Chicago State University, the Board of Trustees of Eastern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Governors State University, the Board of Trustees of Illinois State University, the Board of Trustees of Northeastern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Northern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Western Illinois University, and the Illinois Community College Board; (6) the county board of a county; and (7) the trustees, commissioners, board members, or directors of a university, special district, authority or similar agency.
(Source: P.A. 93-205, eff. 1-1-04.)