Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

5 ILCS 100/1-20

    (5 ILCS 100/1-20) (from Ch. 127, par. 1001-20)
    Sec. 1-20. "Agency" means each officer, board, commission, and agency created by the Constitution, whether in the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of State government, but other than the circuit court; each officer, department, board, commission, agency, institution, authority, university, and body politic and corporate of the State; each administrative unit or corporate outgrowth of the State government that is created by or pursuant to statute, other than units of local government and their officers, school districts, and boards of election commissioners; and each administrative unit or corporate outgrowth of the above and as may be created by executive order of the Governor. "Agency", however, does not include the following:
        (1) The House of Representatives and Senate and their
respective standing and service committees, including without limitation the Board of the Office of the Architect of the Capitol and the Architect of the Capitol established under the Legislative Commission Reorganization Act of 1984.
        (2) The Governor.
        (3) The justices and judges of the Supreme and
Appellate Courts.
        (4) The Legislative Ethics Commission.
        (5) The Illinois State Guard with respect to
regulations adopted under the Illinois State Guard Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-1030, eff. 8-22-18.)