Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB3047
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB3047  100th General Assembly


Sen. Andy Manar

Filed: 4/25/2018





10000SB3047sam004LRB100 18969 AXK 39374 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 3047, AS AMENDED,
3by replacing everything after the enacting clause with the
5    "Section 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Grow
6Your Own STEM and Vocational Education Teachers Act.
7    Section 5. Definition. In this Act, "public institution of
8higher education" means the University of Illinois, Southern
9Illinois University, Chicago State University, Eastern
10Illinois University, Governors State University, Illinois
11State University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northern
12Illinois University, Western Illinois University, or any other
13public university or college, other than a community college,
14new or hereafter established or authorized by the General



10000SB3047sam004- 2 -LRB100 18969 AXK 39374 a

1    Section 10. Grow Your Own STEM and Vocational Education
2Teachers Program. Subject to any tuition waiver limitation
3established by the Board of Higher Education, a public
4institution of higher education shall waive any tuition, fees,
5and on-campus housing costs for a student who does all of the
7        (1) Agrees to pursue a minimum of a bachelor's degree
8    in agriculture, science, technology, engineering, or
9    mathematics for a teaching occupation that includes, but is
10    not limited to, mathematics, natural sciences, or career
11    and vocational education in the areas of agriculture
12    education teacher, technology teacher, industrial arts
13    teacher, trade teacher, health care teacher, or
14    information technology teacher.
15        (2) Agrees to attend a public institution of higher
16    education to pursue an undergraduate degree or an advanced
17    degree in one of the concentrations set forth under
18    paragraph (1) of this Section.
19        (3) Agrees to teach at a hard-to-staff school, as
20    determined by the Board of Higher Education.
21        (4) Maintains a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point
22    average (or its equivalent) at all times.
23        (5) Agrees to fully reimburse the public institution of
24    higher education for any waived tuition, fees, or costs if
25    the student fails to teach at least 3 years at a high
26    school located in this State or less than 5 years at a



10000SB3047sam004- 3 -LRB100 18969 AXK 39374 a

1    public institution of higher education or a public
2    community college located in this State.
3    Section 15. Grow Your Own Dual Credit Teachers Program.
4Subject to any tuition waiver limitation established by the
5Board of Higher Education, a public institution of higher
6education shall waive any tuition and fees for a student who is
7a licensed Illinois teacher with a master's degree and who does
8all of the following:
9        (1) Agrees to pursue up to a maximum of 18 graduate
10    hours necessary to qualify the student to teach dual credit
11    consistent with applicable accreditation and State
12    standards for dual credit faculty. These credit hours shall
13    be in disciplines consistent with the general education
14    areas specified in the General Education Core Curriculum or
15    with the student's major in the Illinois Articulation
16    Initiative, provided the institution has those courses.
17        (2) Agrees to fully reimburse the public institution of
18    higher education for any waived tuition or fees if the
19    student fails to teach at least 5 years at a high school
20    located in this State after the completion of the graduate
21    hours.
22    Section 20. Funding. Funding for this Act shall come from
23the General Revenue Fund and shall be subject to appropriation.



10000SB3047sam004- 4 -LRB100 18969 AXK 39374 a

1    Section 90. Rules. The Board of Higher Education shall
2adopt rules it determines are necessary for the administration
3of this Act.
4    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect July 1,