Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB5632
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB5632  100th General Assembly


Sen. Martin A. Sandoval

Filed: 5/22/2018





10000HB5632sam001LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 5632 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
5changing Sections 2-112, 6-109, and 11-1421 as follows:
6    (625 ILCS 5/2-112)  (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 2-112)
7    Sec. 2-112. Distribution of synopsis laws.
8    (a) The Secretary of State may publish a synopsis or
9summary of the laws of this State regulating the operation of
10vehicles and may deliver a copy thereof without charge with
11each original vehicle registration and with each original
12driver's license.
13    (b) The Secretary of State shall make any necessary
14revisions in its publications including, but not limited to,
15the Illinois Rules of the Road, to accurately conform its
16publications to the provisions of the Pedestrians with



10000HB5632sam001- 2 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1Disabilities Safety Act.
2    (c) The Secretary of State shall include, in the Illinois
3Rules of the Road publication, information advising drivers to
4use the Dutch Reach method when opening a vehicle door after
5parallel parking on a street (checking the rear-view mirror,
6checking the side-view mirror, then opening the door with the
7right hand, thereby reducing the risk of injuring a bicyclist
8or opening the door in the path a vehicle approaching from
10(Source: P.A. 96-1167, eff. 7-22-10.)
11    (625 ILCS 5/6-109)
12    Sec. 6-109. Examination of Applicants.
13    (a) The Secretary of State shall examine every applicant
14for a driver's license or permit who has not been previously
15licensed as a driver under the laws of this State or any other
16state or country, or any applicant for renewal of such driver's
17license or permit when such license or permit has been expired
18for more than one year. The Secretary of State shall, subject
19to the provisions of paragraph (c), examine every licensed
20driver at least every 8 years, and may examine or re-examine
21any other applicant or licensed driver, provided that during
22the years 1984 through 1991 those drivers issued a license for
233 years may be re-examined not less than every 7 years or more
24than every 10 years.
25    The Secretary of State shall require the testing of the



10000HB5632sam001- 3 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1eyesight of any driver's license or permit applicant who has
2not been previously licensed as a driver under the laws of this
3State and shall promulgate rules and regulations to provide for
4the orderly administration of all the provisions of this
6    The Secretary of State shall include at least one test
7question that concerns the provisions of the Pedestrians with
8Disabilities Safety Act in the question pool used for the
9written portion of the drivers license examination within one
10year after July 22, 2010 (the effective date of Public Act
12    The Secretary of State shall include, in the question pool
13used for the written portion of the driver's license
14examination, test questions concerning safe driving in the
15presence of bicycles, of which one may be concerning the Dutch
16Reach method as described in Section 2-112.
17    (b) Except as provided for those applicants in paragraph
18(c), such examination shall include a test of the applicant's
19eyesight, his ability to read and understand official traffic
20control devices, his knowledge of safe driving practices and
21the traffic laws of this State, and may include an actual
22demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise ordinary
23and reasonable control of the operation of a motor vehicle, and
24such further physical and mental examination as the Secretary
25of State finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness
26to operate a motor vehicle safely on the highways, except the



10000HB5632sam001- 4 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1examination of an applicant 75 years of age or older shall
2include an actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to
3exercise ordinary and reasonable control of the operation of a
4motor vehicle. All portions of written and verbal examinations
5under this Section, excepting where the English language
6appears on facsimiles of road signs, may be given in the
7Spanish language and, at the discretion of the Secretary of
8State, in any other language as well as in English upon request
9of the examinee. Deaf persons who are otherwise qualified are
10not prohibited from being issued a license, other than a
11commercial driver's license, under this Code.
12    (c) Re-examination for those applicants who at the time of
13renewing their driver's license possess a driving record devoid
14of any convictions of traffic violations or evidence of
15committing an offense for which mandatory revocation would be
16required upon conviction pursuant to Section 6-205 at the time
17of renewal shall be in a manner prescribed by the Secretary in
18order to determine an applicant's ability to safely operate a
19motor vehicle, except that every applicant for the renewal of a
20driver's license who is 75 years of age or older must prove, by
21an actual demonstration, the applicant's ability to exercise
22reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor vehicle.
23    (d) In the event the applicant is not ineligible under the
24provisions of Section 6-103 to receive a driver's license, the
25Secretary of State shall make provision for giving an
26examination, either in the county where the applicant resides



10000HB5632sam001- 5 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the
2applicant, within not more than 30 days from the date said
3application is received.
4    (e) The Secretary of State may adopt rules regarding the
5use of foreign language interpreters during the application and
6examination process.
7(Source: P.A. 96-1167, eff. 7-22-10; 96-1231, eff. 7-23-10;
897-333, eff. 8-12-11.)
9    (625 ILCS 5/11-1421)  (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-1421)
10    Sec. 11-1421. Conditions for operating ambulances and
11rescue vehicles.
12    (a) No person shall operate an ambulance or rescue vehicle
13in a manner not conforming to the motor vehicle laws and
14regulations of this State or of any political subdivision of
15this State as such laws and regulations apply to motor vehicles
16in general, unless in compliance with the following conditions:
17        1. The person operating the ambulance shall be either
18    responding to a bona fide emergency call or specifically
19    directed by a licensed physician to disregard traffic laws
20    in operating the ambulance during and for the purpose of
21    the specific trip or journey that is involved;
22        2. The ambulance or rescue vehicle shall be equipped
23    with a siren producing an audible signal of an intensity of
24    100 decibels at a distance of 50 feet from the siren, and
25    with a lamp or lamps emitting an oscillating, rotating or



10000HB5632sam001- 6 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1    flashing red beam directed in part toward the front of the
2    vehicle, and these lamps shall have sufficient intensity to
3    be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight, and in addition
4    to other lighting requirements, excluding those vehicles
5    operated in counties with a population in excess of
6    2,000,000, may also operate with a lamp or lamps emitting
7    an oscillating, rotating, or flashing green light;
8        3. The aforesaid siren and lamp or lamps shall be in
9    operation at all times when it is reasonably necessary to
10    warn pedestrians and other drivers of the approach thereof
11    during such trip or journey, except that in a municipality
12    with a population over 1,000,000, the siren and lamp or
13    lamps shall be in operation only when it is reasonably
14    necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the
15    approach thereof while responding to an emergency call or
16    transporting a patient who presents a combination of
17    circumstances resulting in a need for immediate medical
18    intervention;
19        4. Whenever the ambulance or rescue vehicle is operated
20    at a speed in excess of 40 miles per hour, the ambulance or
21    rescue vehicle shall be operated in complete conformance
22    with every other motor vehicle law and regulation of this
23    State and of the political subdivision in which the
24    ambulance or rescue vehicle is operated, relating to the
25    operation of motor vehicles, as such provision applies to
26    motor vehicles in general, except laws and regulations



10000HB5632sam001- 7 -LRB100 20888 LNS 40609 a

1    pertaining to compliance with official traffic-control
2    devices or to vehicular operation upon the right half of
3    the roadway; and
4        5. The ambulance shall display registration plates
5    identifying the vehicle as an ambulance.
6    (b) The foregoing provisions do not relieve the driver of
7an ambulance or rescue vehicle from the duty of driving with
8due regard for the safety of all persons, nor do such
9provisions protect the driver from the consequences resulting
10from the reckless disregard for the safety of others.
11(Source: P.A. 88-517.)".