Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB0853
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB0853  98th General Assembly


Sen. Andy Manar

Filed: 10/22/2013





09800SB0853sam001LRB098 05087 MLW 49268 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 853 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Wildlife Code is amended by adding Section
53.1-9 as follows:
6    (520 ILCS 5/3.1-9 new)
7    Sec. 3.1-9. Youth Hunting License.
8    Any resident youth age 16 and under may apply to the
9Department for a Youth Hunting License, which extends limited
10hunting privileges. The Youth Hunting License shall be a
11renewable license that shall expire on the March 31 following
12the date of issuance.
13    For youth age 16 and under, the Youth Hunting License shall
14entitle the licensee to hunt while supervised by a parent,
15grandparent, or guardian who is 21 years of age or older and
16has a valid Illinois hunting license. Possession of a Youth



09800SB0853sam001- 2 -LRB098 05087 MLW 49268 a

1Hunting License shall serve in lieu of a valid hunting license,
2but does not exempt the licensee from compliance with the
3requirements of this Code and any rules adopted under this
5    A youth licensed under this Section shall not hunt or carry
6a hunting device, including, but not limited to, a firearm, bow
7and arrow, or crossbow unless the youth is accompanied by and
8under the close personal supervision of a parent, grandparent,
9or guardian who is 21 years of age or older and has a valid
10Illinois hunting license.
11    At age 17 years or when the youth chooses to hunt by
12themselves, they are required to successfully complete a hunter
13safety course approved by the Department prior to being able to
14obtain a full hunting license and subsequently hunt by
16    In order to be approved for the Youth Hunting License, the
17applicant must request a Youth Hunting License from the
18Department and submit a $7 fee, which shall be separate from
19and additional to any other stamp, permit, tag, or license fee
20that may be required for hunting under this Code. The
21Department shall adopt rules for the administration of the
22program, but shall not require any certificate of competency or
23other hunting education as a condition of the Youth Hunting
25    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon



09800SB0853sam001- 3 -LRB098 05087 MLW 49268 a

1becoming law.".