Bill Status of HB5616  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Sonya M. Harper - Cynthia Soto - Litesa E. Wallace - Linda Chapa LaVia - Camille Y. Lilly, Rita Mayfield, LaToya Greenwood, Juliana Stratton, Justin Slaughter, Carol Ammons, Mr. Nicholas K Smith, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Elizabeth Hernandez, Theresa Mah, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Mary E. Flowers, Silvana Tabares, André Thapedi, Al Riley, Emanuel Chris Welch, Arthur Turner and Jehan Gordon-Booth

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Illinois Violence Reduction Funding Act of 2018. Requires the Secretary of the Department of Human Services to make grants to community-based organizations for the purpose of carrying out community-based violence reduction programs. Provides that the programs shall reflect strong community involvement and provide specified services including: (i) youth services; (ii) trauma-informed counseling services; (iii) public awareness campaigns; and (iv) job readiness training programs. Contains provisions concerning eligible activities; selection criteria; eligible entities; application requirements; and reporting requirements. Effective July 1, 2018.

DateChamber Action
  2/16/2018HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  2/16/2018HouseFirst Reading
  2/16/2018HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/7/2018HouseAssigned to Appropriations-Human Services Committee
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Litesa E. Wallace
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Juliana Stratton
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K Smith
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Al Riley
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  4/13/2018HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die