Bill Status of HB5370  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jay Hoffman - Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. - Eva-Dina Delgado - Katie Stuart - Wayne A Rosenthal, Michael J. Kelly, Dan Swanson, Bradley Fritts, Jeff Keicher, Lance Yednock, Barbara Hernandez, Tracy Katz Muhl, Jason Bunting, Matt Hanson, Dave Severin, Dan Ugaste, Patrick Windhorst, Paul Jacobs, William E Hauter, Steven Reick, Kevin Schmidt, Joyce Mason and Tony M. McCombie

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Celina Villanueva, Andrew S. Chesney, Michael W. Halpin, Julie A. Morrison, Cristina Castro, Adriane Johnson, Mary Edly-Allen, Doris Turner, Emil Jones, III, Meg Loughran Cappel and Laura M. Murphy)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  6/13/2024HouseSent to the Governor

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
625 ILCS 5/11-907from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-907
625 ILCS 5/11-908from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-908

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Requires that upon approaching an emergency scene, a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, or a construction or maintenance area or zone, a person who drives a vehicle shall, proceeding with due caution, yield the right-of-way by making a lane change, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic conditions, if on a highway having at least 4 lanes with not less than 2 lanes proceeding in the same direction as the approaching vehicle reduce the speed of the vehicle to a speed that is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway to avoid a collision and leaving a safe distance until safely past the stationary authorized emergency vehicle, or construction or maintenance area or zone. Provides that if changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe, proceeding with due caution, reduce the speed of the vehicle to a speed that is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway to avoid a collision, or until safely past the construction or maintenance area or zone.

DateChamber Action
  2/9/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jay Hoffman
  2/9/2024HouseFirst Reading
  2/9/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/28/2024HouseAssigned to Transportation: Vehicles & Safety
  3/6/2024HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Transportation: Vehicles & Safety; 011-000-000
  3/6/2024HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne A Rosenthal
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Kelly
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Swanson
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bradley Fritts
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tracy Katz Muhl
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Bunting
  4/11/2024HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/11/2024HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/17/2024HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 113-000-000
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Matt Hanson
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Jacobs
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William E Hauter
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Schmidt
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/17/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony M. McCombie
  4/18/2024SenateArrive in Senate
  4/18/2024SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/18/2024SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Celina Villanueva
  4/18/2024SenateFirst Reading
  4/18/2024SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/24/2024SenateAssigned to Transportation
  5/1/2024SenateDo Pass Transportation; 013-000-000
  5/1/2024SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading May 2, 2024
  5/2/2024SenateSecond Reading
  5/2/2024SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading May 7, 2024
  5/16/2024SenateThird Reading - Passed; 059-000-000
  5/16/2024HousePassed Both Houses
  5/16/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Andrew S. Chesney
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael W. Halpin
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Adriane Johnson
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Mary Edly-Allen
  5/24/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Doris Turner
  5/25/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Emil Jones, III
  5/26/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel
  6/3/2024SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  6/13/2024HouseSent to the Governor