Bill Status of HB5135  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Mary E. Flowers - Robyn Gabel - Juliana Stratton - Gregory Harris - LaToya Greenwood, Theresa Mah, Emanuel Chris Welch, Christian L. Mitchell, Kelly M. Cassidy, Sonya M. Harper, Elizabeth Hernandez, Will Guzzardi, Kathleen Willis, André Thapedi, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Laura Fine, Camille Y. Lilly, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Sara Feigenholtz, La Shawn K. Ford, Al Riley, Mr. Nicholas K Smith, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Justin Slaughter and Rita Mayfield

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
305 ILCS 5/12-4.11from Ch. 23, par. 12-4.11

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Public Aid Code. Provides that grant amounts under the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program may not vary on the basis of a TANF recipient's county of residence. Increases TANF grant amounts to: 30% of federal poverty guidelines beginning October 1, 2018; 40% of federal poverty guidelines beginning October 1, 2019; and 50% of federal poverty guidelines beginning October 1, 2020. Provides that beginning October 1, 2021, and each October 1 thereafter, TANF grant amounts shall be annually adjusted to remain equal to 50% of the most recent federal poverty guidelines for each family size. Provides that TANF grants for child-only assistance units shall be at least 75% of TANF grants for assistance units of the same size that consist of a caretaker relative with children. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2018HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  2/16/2018HouseFirst Reading
  2/16/2018HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christian L. Mitchell
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  3/5/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Juliana Stratton
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  3/21/2018HouseAssigned to Appropriations-Human Services Committee
  3/22/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  3/22/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  3/22/2018HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/13/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Al Riley
  4/13/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K Smith
  4/13/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/13/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  4/13/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  4/13/2018HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die