Bill Status of HB4421  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Janet Yang Rohr - Natalie A. Manley - Anne Stava-Murray - Dagmara Avelar - Camille Y. Lilly, Katie Stuart, Anna Moeller, Laura Faver Dias, Maura Hirschauer, Jenn Ladisch Douglass, Norma Hernandez, Mary Gill, Sharon Chung and Kimberly Du Buclet

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/5/2024HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
215 ILCS 5/356gfrom Ch. 73, par. 968g

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Insurance Code. In a provision concerning coverage for mammograms, provides that if a woman's physician has ordered the patient to receive breast tomosynthesis because it has been determined that high breast density will make low-dose mammography inaccurate or ineffective, the insurer shall not require the physician to order an additional low-dose mammography as a precondition to breast tomosynthesis, nor shall an insurer require the patient to receive a low-dose mammography as a precondition to breast tomosynthesis. Provides that if the results of a woman's first 2-dimensional mammogram screening determine that the patient has high breast density, coverage of breast tomosynthesis shall be provided at no cost to the insured, regardless of whether the breast tomosynthesis and 2-dimensional mammogram occurs within the same calendar year, coverage year, or 365-day period.

DateChamber Action
  1/10/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  1/16/2024HouseFirst Reading
  1/16/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/14/2024HouseAssigned to Insurance Committee
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jenn Ladisch Douglass
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norma Hernandez
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Gill
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sharon Chung
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kimberly Du Buclet
  4/5/2024HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee