Bill Status of HB4208  99th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Robyn Gabel - Elaine Nekritz - Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Christian L. Mitchell, Anna Moeller, Laura Fine, Linda Chapa LaVia, Elgie R. Sims, Jr., Will Guzzardi, Ann M. Williams, Robert Martwick, Kelly M. Cassidy, Kathleen Willis, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Silvana Tabares, Kenneth Dunkin, Cynthia Soto, Sonya M. Harper, John C. D'Amico, Michelle Mussman, Martin J. Moylan, Sam Yingling, Scott Drury, Pamela Reaves-Harris, Camille Y. Lilly, Sara Feigenholtz, Daniel V. Beiser, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Natalie A. Manley, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr., Gregory Harris and Luis Arroyo

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2017HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/1A-16.6

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Provides that specified government agencies shall assist individuals to register to vote unless the individual chooses to not register. Provides that employees of designated government agencies must inform the applicant of his or her right to opt out of this voter registration. Provides that employees must inform the applicant that if he or she is not a citizen of the United States, he or she must opt out. Provides that applicants opting out of the automatic voter registration shall not be required to disclose whether he or she is a citizen of the United States or his or her reason for opting out.

DateChamber Action
  4/29/2015HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Robyn Gabel
  4/29/2015HouseFirst Reading
  4/29/2015HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  5/30/2015HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  10/8/2015HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christian L. Mitchell
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Martwick
  2/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  2/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kenneth Dunkin
  2/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  2/17/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  2/22/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  2/22/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/22/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/25/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/1/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Scott Drury
  3/2/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Pamela Reaves-Harris
  3/9/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/16/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  3/23/2016HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  4/8/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  4/8/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/8/2016HouseCommittee Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b) April 22, 2016
  4/11/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  4/12/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  4/12/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.
  4/18/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  4/18/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  4/22/2016HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2017HouseSession Sine Die