Bill Status of HB3729  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Martin J. Moylan - Grant Wehrli - Deb Conroy - Natalie A. Manley, David S. Olsen, Allen Skillicorn, Kathleen Willis, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Jerry Lee Long, Katie Stuart, LaToya Greenwood, Michelle Mussman, Sam Yingling, Silvana Tabares, Jeanne M Ives, Thomas Morrison, Michael Halpin and Jonathan Carroll

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
40 ILCS 5/7-137from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 7-137
40 ILCS 5/7-137.3 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF) Article of the Illinois Pension Code. Provides that a person who is an elected municipal official shall not be considered a participating employee, unless (1) the person has elected to become a participating employee; (2) the participating municipality has filed a resolution certifying that a person in that position is expected to work more than 600 hours (or 1,000 hours if the participating municipality has adopted a specified resolution); and (3) the person has submitted logs evidencing that he or she has met the hourly standard. Requires the resolution to be adopted and filed with the Fund no more than 90 days after the general election in which any municipal official was elected. Provides that with respect to a participant who holds elected municipal office on the effective date, the resolution requirement does not affect participation by that elected municipal official with respect to that term of office until 90 days after the effective date. Contains provisions specifying the manner of documenting and submitting the time spent on official government business. Provides that an elected municipal official who fails to submit time sheets or fails to conduct official government business for either 600 or 1,000 hours (whichever is applicable) with respect to that position shall not be permitted to continue participation in the Fund as an elected municipal official. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2017HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/10/2017HouseFirst Reading
  2/10/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/1/2017HouseAssigned to Personnel & Pensions Committee
  3/31/2017HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  6/24/2017HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Grant Wehrli
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David S. Olsen
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  6/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  6/25/2017HouseRemove Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Lee Long
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  6/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeanne M Ives
  6/26/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  6/28/2017HouseAssigned to Personnel & Pensions Committee
  6/28/2017HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) June 30, 2017
  6/28/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  6/30/2017HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) July 7, 2017
  7/6/2017HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  10/4/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die